Tag Archives: The Rumour

New 6CD/1DVD Box For Graham Parker Coming, These Dreams Will Never Sleep: The Best Of Graham Parker 1976-2015

These Dreams Will Never Sleep GP Box CoverRock in the late ’70s and into the early ’80s was an incredible phenomena. It was growing up so fast, we barely had time to get it all into our systems. Part of that magic was Graham Parker & The Rumour. From his debut in 1976 of Howlin’ Wind to his peak set, The Up Escalator in 1980 through his last album, Mystery Glue in 2015, Graham Parker has delivered a varied collection of great albums, 22 of them in all. Seven of them were with The Rumour, one with The Shot, and one with The Figgs. The rest were solo offerings. Consistently released, Graham Parker has covered a lot of years, and a lot of musical ground in his catalog.

On September 30, Universal UK will release a 6CD/1DVD career spanning Box called These Dreams Will Never Sleep: The Best Of Graham Parker 1976-2015 that will provide three anthology CDs, a CD with BBC sessions, and a 2CD set that contains the entire show of Graham Parker & The Rumour’s last set in 2015 that supported Mystery Glue. This live show is previously unreleased.

The DVD adds a collection of performances from Top Of The Pops, and The Old Grey Whistle Test from the ’70s, and an unreleased live concert with The Rumour at The Brook in Southampton (UK). As if these inclusions weren’t enough, a 36-page hardcover book is included filled with photos and notes, an essay, and a new interview with Graham Parker. To make the set even more attractive, a poster, and three postcards will complete the essential Box set.

As of now, there isn’t a track-list available. But when one is displayed, I’ll update this page with it.

These Dreams Will Never Sleep Inside Shot


[UPDATE] New Graham Parker & The Rumour Album, Mystery Glue, Planned For May

Graham Parker Mystery GlueWe don’t always see new music from Graham Parker with his most successful affiliation, The Rumour. But, when I see those two names joined together, I get excited, despite their musical admonition not to.

On May 18 (UK), May 19 (US), Graham Parker & The Rumour will be releasing a brand new album, Mystery Glue. What’s extra special about Mystery Glue is the fact that it is musically powered by the original bandmates of The Rumour, who includes Brinsley Schwarz, Bob Andrews, Martin Belmont, Stephen Goulding, and Andrew Bodnar. Their last together, Three Chords Good, which was released in 2012, was an excellent add to the catalog. The timeless magic is still there.

Mystery Glue will contain twelve songs (track-list below).

Mystery Glue will be released via Universal on CD, and vinyl LP. The first 100 to pre-order either the CD or the LP via web-site, will be treated to a signed copy. Additionally, a pre-order will enter you into a contest that could award five fans (you?) with an exclusive acoustic performance by Graham Parker.

Track List – Mystery Glue

01.Transit Of Venus
02.Going There
03.Wall Of Grace
04.Swing State
05.Slow News Day
06.Railroad Spikes
07.Flying Into London
08.Pub Crawl
09.I’ve Done Bad Things
10.Fast Crowd
11.Long Shot
12.My Life In Movieland