Tag Archives: The Replacements

The Replacements Get 4LP Box, The Sire Years

The Replacements Sire YearsIf you remember The Replacements, then you remember some fine Rock and Roll moments in the transitional period of the latter ’70s as it became the ’80s. After their formation, The Replacements released some great music on the historic Sire Records label. The band originated from Minneapolis, MN, and eventually began to release their music on the Twin/Tone label, also based in Minneapolis. The albums on that label include Hey Ma, Forgot To Take Out The Trash (1981), the classic Hootenanny (1983), and Let It Be (1984). By then, the band was well-known for many reasons (stage show, music).

By 1985, The Replacements released Tim. It was the band’s first album for a major label, Sire Records (attached to Warner Brothers, and home to many top-rated talent of the time). The band released three more titles (Pleased To Meet Me – 1987, Don’t Tell A Soul – 1989, All Shook Down – 1990) before they disbanded in 1991. Eventually, they returned to the stage but not for more than two decades later. Much has changed musically. Nevertheless, the early titles were their classics.

On March 29, Sire Records will assemble new LP versions of the titles that were originally released on that label. The new pressings will be issued in a 4LP box called, simply, The Sire Years. This will complete what was started last year when Rhino released a 4LP Box, The Twin/Tone Years. In April of 2015, Rhino had issued the 8CD Box of the entire studio output of The Replacements.

If you’re inclined to appreciate vinyl, and you’re an avid Replacements fan, then this upcoming Box will nicely augment the Twin/Tone set.


TAPSheet: Release Notes – 07/28/2015

It’s been a while since I posted a TAPSheet, so it’s time:

Eagle Rock Entertainment will release three cool new titles that include The Unity Sessions by Pat Metheny; a Taste (Rory Gallagher) live set, What’s Going On Taste Live At The Isle Of Wight 1970; and a Jeff Lynne’s ELO release, Live In Hyde Park. These titles are being released in various formats. The Taste set will be released on CD, LP, DD, BD, and DVD, scheduled for September 18. The Pat Metheny set will be released on Blu-ray, also on September 18. The Jeff Lynne’s ELO title is planned for September 11 on Blu-ray, and DVD.

On CD, Eagle Rock will issue Live At Montreux 2011, An Invitation to Illumination. This album features the classic pairing of Carlos Santana and John McLaughlin. This album is planned for September 11.

Rhino will release a 4LP Box of The Replacements classics called The Twin/Tone Years. It’s scheduled for

Replacements The TwinTone Years

Green Hill Productions will release Native Dreams, a new album from David Arkenstone. It’s scheduled for September 11.

The Welk Music Group will release a new Jewel album, Picking Up the Pieces, on September 11.

4AD Records, the famed UK label, will release a 9LP Box featuring The National called A Lot Of Sorrow. This Limited Edition Box is pegged at 1500 sets only.

The National A Lot Of Sorrow 4AD 9LP Box

Dualtone Music will re-release History From Below (2010) by Delta Spirit on vinyl LP planning for September 18.

Capitol Records will release new music from Don Henley with Cass County, expected on September 25.

Don Henley Cass County

Spinefarm Records will release Long Live in both Explicit and Edited versions. The new live set from Atreyu is on the calendar for September 18.

Decca Records will release Another Country by Rod Stewart planned for October 23.

Columbia Records have Rattle That Lock by Pink Floyd alumni, David Gilmour, planned for September 18 in a number of varieties that include CD, 2CD, DD, LP, and expansive BD/CD and DVD/CD sets.

David Gilmour Rattle That Lock

On September 11, the cool folks over at Eagle Rock will release Live at Montreux 1997 featuring resurrected Emerson, Lake & Palmer.

Nusic Sounds plan an album featuring The 30th Anniversary Mixes of 19, by Paul Hardcastle.

Audio Fidelity will release a Multi-channel, and Stereo SACD of John McLaughlin and Mahavishnu Orchestra classic, Birds of Fire (1973). The reissue is planned for August 21.

Mahavishnu Orchestra Birds Of Fire

On September 18, Omnivore Records will release The Atco/Atlantic Singles 1968-1974 featuring the music of Max Rebennack, better known as Dr John. The new set will offer twenty-two tracks that include “Right Place Wrong Time”, “Iko Iko”,and “Such A Night”.

Track Listing – The Atco/Atlantic Singles 1968-1974 
01.The Patriotic Flag Waver
02.Mama Roux
03.Jump Steady
04.I Walk On Gilded Splinters
05.I Walk On Gilded Splinters
06.Gris-Gris Gumbo Ya Ya
07.Loop Garoo
08.Wash Mama Wash
09.Iko Iko
10.Huey Smith Medley
11.Wang Dang Doodle
12.Big Chief
13.A Man Of Many Words
14.Right Place Wrong Time
15.I Been Hoodood
16.Such A Night
17.Cold Cold Cold
19.Let’s Make A Better World
20.Me – You = Loneliness
21.(Everybody Wanna Get Rich) Rite Away
22.Mos’ Scocious

Dr John Atco Atlantic Singles 1968-1974


Rhino Records To Release The Complete Studio Albums 1981-1990 For The Replacements

The Replacements The Complete Studio AlbumsThe Replacements, an alternative Rock band from the late ’70s, early ’80s created enduring albums that are as relevant today as the day they were released. Back then, the band’s issues came via Twin/Tone Records, a label that originated in Minneapolis, MN, and that released albums by Ween, Soul Asylum, The Jayhawks, and others.

The Replacements included Paul Westerberg, who, along with fellow guitarist, Bob Stinson, Bob’s younger brother, Tommy Stinson, and drummer, Chris. Their fast, frenetic, punk-styled form was easily recognized as being influenced by The Ramones, The Clash, and other great bands of the time.

Over time, The Replacements released seven studio albums, three of them on the Twin/Tone Records label, and the remaining four on Sire Records (naturally!). Those great albums include Sorry Ma, Forgot To Take Out The Trash (1981), Hootenanny (1983), Let It Be (1984), Tim (1985), Pleased To Meet Me (1987), Don’t Tell A Soul (1989), and All Shook Down (1990).

Each successive album evolved the band to greater levels of music, a fact not lost on Replacements fans. It’s how the band’s legacy has endured throughout these years. In fact, just the first three Twin/Tone albums were amazing transformations from each other. Once the band signed to Seymour Stein’s important Sire Records, their music has taken the next step.

On April 14, Rhino Records will release an 8CD series Box, The Complete Studio Albums (1981-1990). all released albums by The Replacements during the time frame from 1981 through 1990 will be in this collection. The 8-track EP by The Replacements, Stink, will be included in this set. It was released by Twin/Tone Records.

I will update this post should more information release.