Tag Archives: Stevie Nicks

Two Stevie Nicks Expanded Remasters Include Bella Donna, and The Wild Heart

stevie-nicks-bella-donnaIf you’re a Stevie Nicks fan, then you should know that two of her clssic solo albums are on the calendar for expanded remasters reissues. That pretty good news to me. (Sadly, for now, Rock A Little isn’t on the calendar.)

Stevie Nicks has a unique voice that helped propel Fleetwood Mac to the highest reaches of Rock history with their 1975 release, Fleetwood Mac. And despite that the band has been around for years prior to that release, it was that reinvention that gained them incredible fame. But as the band waned in popularity, Stevie Nicks looked to build her solo career. And she did quite a job at it.

Her first album, Bella Donna, the home of “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” with Tom Petty, “Leather and Lace” with Don Henley, “Edge Of Seventeen”, and to a lesser hit extent “After The Glitter Fades”. The album hit big, selling multiple millions buoyed by hits that lasted for nearly a year. It was followed by The Wild Heart in 1983 (waiting for the debut to cool down in sales). It produced “Stand Back”, the album’s biggest hit.  That album would traffic like Bella Donna, but is still an essential from the honey-voiced singer.

stevie-nicks-wild-heartOn November 4, Rhino Records will assemble Deluxe Edition packages that will include remastered original album, as well as a CD of bonus tracks with early takes, alternate versions, demos, and other goodies, plus, in the case of Bella Donna, a 1982 live set on a separate CD. The booklets that accompany these two reissues will be filled with the usual expectations. In addition to the CD packages, Rhino will release the newly remastered original albums on DD, and vinyl LPs.

Please let Rock a Little be next.



Bella Donna – Stevie Nicks


CD1 (Original 1981 Album Remastered):
01. Bella Donna
02. Kind of Woman
03. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around (with Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers)
04. Think About It
05. After The Glitter Fades
06. Edge of Seventeen
07. How Still My Love
08. Leather And Lace (with Don Henley)
09. Outside The Rain
10. The Highwayman

CD2 (Bonus Tracks):
01. Edge of Seventeen (Early Take)
02. Think About It (Alternate Version)
03. How Still My Love (Alternate Version)
04. Leather And Lace (Alternate Version)
05. Bella Donna (Demo)
06. Gold And Braid (Unreleased Version)
07. Sleeping Angel (Alternate Version)
08. If You Were My Love (Unreleased Version)
09. The Dealer (Unreleased Version)
10. Blue Lamp (From “Heavy Metal”) [Remastered]
11. Sleeping Angel (From “Fast Times At Ridgemont High”) [Remastered]

CD3 (Live 1982):
01. Gold Dust Woman (Live 1982) [Remastered]
02. Gold And Braid (Live 1982) [Remastered]
03. I Need To Know (Live 1982) [Remastered]
04. Outside The Rain (Live 1982) [Remastered]
05. Dreams (Live 1982) [Remastered]
06. Angel (Live 1982)
07. After The Glitter Fades (Live 1982) [Remastered]
08. Leather And Lace (Live 1982)
09. Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around (Live 1982) [Remastered]
10. Bella Donna (Live 1982)
11. Sara (Live 1982) [Remastered]
12. How Still My Love (Live)
13. Edge Of Seventeen (Live 1982) [Remastered]
14. Rhiannon (Live 1982) [Remastered]

The Wild Heart – Stevie Nicks


CD1 (Original 1983 Album – Remastered):
01. Wild Heart
02. If Anyone Falls
03. Gate And Garden
04. Enchanted
05. Nightbird
06. Stand Back
07. I Will Run To You (Stevie Nicks & Tom Petty)
08. Nothing Ever Changes
09. Sable on Blond
10. Beauty And The Beast

CD2 (Bonus Tracks):
01. Violet And Blue (From “Against All Odds”) [Remastered]
02. I Sing For The Things (Unreleased Version)
03. Sable on Blond (Alternate Version)
04. All The Beautiful Worlds (Unreleased Version)
05. Sorcerer (Unreleased Version)
06. Dial the Number (Unreleased Version)
07. Garbo (B-Side) [Remastered] – side
08. Are You Mine (Demo)
09. Wild Heart (Session)


Poll: Best Female Artists of This Time Worthy Of Remembrance

Florence WelchPoll time again!

We have so many female artists that have legitimately gained our love and respect. A look through the ’60s, we have Joni Mitchell, Joan Baez, Laura Nyro, Barbra Streisand, while the ’70s plump up with even more.  For the ’70s, there are Carly Simon, Bette Midler, Helen Reddy, Karen Carpenter, Linda Ronstadt, Carole King, Patti Smith, and a whole bunch more.  The ’80s delivered Kate Bush, Pat Benatar, Stevie Nicks, to name a few. Even the ’90s had a few icons. Those were Toni Childs, Fiona Apple, Alanis Morrissette, Sarah Maclachlan, and a few others. The interesting thing is that the ’90s produced female artists that are not as memorable as the previous decades (for many).

My poll question is this? Which female artists of the current generation, or since 2000, should be remembered as being extraordinary for their time. I have a few.

My list includes Florence Welch, Lykke Li, St. Vincent (Annie Clark), and Amy Winehouse and Adele (for different reasons). If we forego the usual Pop icons ( I have), we can safely eliminate artists like Katy Perry, Lady GaGa, Britney Spears, and others of their kind.

So, what are your choices of era 2000- now artists that should be remembered decades from now?

Lykke Li

Stevie Nicks To Release New Album, 24 Karat Gold, In October

Stevie Nicks 24 karat goldThe last time we heard from Stevie Nicks, solo-wise, was with the release of her 2011 gem. In Your Dreams. That album delivered a wealth of excellent songs proving that Stevie Nicks was as musically important in this day and age, as any time she has recorded and released material for. I still run “Cheaper Than Free” from that album, not only through my head on its own power, but the occasional return to the actual track.

It’s always great news to hear that Stevie Nicks is recording again. So when 24 Karat Gold, the new Nicks album, was announced, I grew a little excited for it. My go-to Nicks album remains Rock a Little from 1985, but that’s a personal preference. I’m sure that many of you – if you’re a fan of Stevie Nicks – have your own personal favorite solo album. Track for track, Rock a Little presented to me a strong work with extreme lasting power, again, with songs that replay themselves over and over in my head. Still…

On October 7, Reprise Records will release Stevie Nicks‘ eighth solo album, 24 Karat Gold – Songs From the Vault. And while the Songs From the Vault reference may have some thinking that these are previously recorded outtakes stitched together to create a fast release, it is not that at all. In fact, these songs are previously written – and likely previously recorded – Nicks tunes from the periods of 1969 through 1995. What makes them new is the reality that Stevie Nicks have recorded these songs anew to provide a more current flavoring of interpretation.

The new album will provide fourteen songs (track-list below), with “The Dealer” currently in release to champion the upcoming set . Having listened to the new song, I would have to say that – again, if you’re a Nicks fan – we’re in for a treat as it is as fresh as anything she has done.

24 Karat Gold – Songs From the Vault will be released as a single CD set, a 2LP set (released earlier on September 29) with download access to the MP3s included, and a Deluxe Edition version that includes 2 bonus tracks (“Twisted”, “Watch Chain”), featuring a re-sequenced track-listing, and a richly filled 48-page photo booklet.

Track-List (Single CD)

01. Starshine
02. The Dealer
03. Mabel Normand
04. Blue Water
05. Cathouse Blues
06. 24 Karat Gold
07. Hard Advice
08. Lady
09. I Don t Care
10. All The Beautiful Worlds
11. Belle Fleur
12. If You Were My Love
13. Carousel
14. She Loves Him Still

Track-List  (Deluxe Edition, LP)

01. Starshine
02. If You Were My Love
03. Mabel Normand
04. Twisted
05. 24 Karat Gold
06. Belle Fleur
07. All The Beautiful Words
08. Lady
09. I Don’t Care
10. Watch Chain
11. Hard Advice
12. Carousel
13. Blue Water
14. Cathouse Blues
15. The Dealer
16. She Loves Him Still