Tag Archives: Simon And Garfunkel

New Paul Simon Album, Stranger To Stranger, Planned For June

Paul Simon - Stranger To StrangerSince 1965, when Paul Simon released his first solo album, we have been the beneficial recipients of his strong lyrics and musical prowess. That album showcased his “I Am A Rock”, which was later re-recorded to help heighten the impact of the duo of Simon & Garfunkel in their collection of generating hits. Although, the folk duo of Simon & Garfunkel lasted only until their final recorded studio album, Bridge Over Troubled Water (1970), Paul Simon ventured on as a solo artist, eventually releasing many classic sets with a wide range of hits.

Paul Simon’s lyrics have always been insightful, mournful, nostalgic, humorous, and deeply filled with disillusionment and uncertainty. They were poetically charged and timeless. Even today, many of those songs still hold a music-listening public in thrall. As proof of that, listen to the stunning and moving cover of “The Sound Of Silence” recently released by Disturbed (here).

From the release of his popular 1972 self-titled solo album, with three hits that included “Me and Julio Down By the Schoolyard” and “Mother and Child Reunion” to the huge charting successes of Graceland (1986), and The Rhythm Of The Saints (1990), on through to his last album from 2011,  So Beautiful, So What, Paul Simon has challenged musical boundaries and lyrics with his own legacy of brilliance.

On June 3, Concord Records will release the next Paul Simon album, Stranger To Stranger. This new album will feature a continuation of his love for rhythmic styles, first enjoyed in Graceland. The new album will feature a strong three-song collaboration with popular Italian electronic dance artist, Clap! Clap!  The standard intended release of Strange To Stranger will be a CD with eleven New Paul Simon songs. There will be an expanded Deluxe Edition with five bonus tracks as well as the expected DD of the album. In addition, there will be a 180g-weight vinyl LP version of the eleven track set.

The album is preceded by a song from it called “Wristband” (enjoyed below).

Paul Simon will undertake a supportive tour for the album beginning April 29 in New Orleans, and finishing on July 1 at Forest Hills in New York (two nights).


The Concert In Central Park from Simon and Garfunkel Repackaged As CD/DVD Deluxe Edition

The great folks at Legacy Records will reissue the Simon & Garfunkel 1981 concert set, The Concert In Central Park (1982), as a remastered, CD/DVD Deluxe Edition repackaging that combines the previously available CD and DVD. This set is scheduled for August 7. The set will be reissued on 2LP sets as well. The LPs will be pressed on 180g-weight vinyl. The CD/LP track-list is found below. The 2LP set will provide a digital download card of files that have already been released back in 2014.

The included DVD will feature the entire show.

Simon And Garfunkel The Concert In Central Park CDDVD

The Concert In Central Park – Simon and Garfunkel
01. Mrs. Robinson
02. Homeward Bound
03. America
04. Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard
05. Scarborough Fair
06. April Come She Will
07. Wake up Little Susie
08. Still Crazy After All These Years
09. American Tune
10. Late in the Evening
11. Slip Slidin’ Away
12. A Heart In New York
13. Kodachrome / Mabellene; Kodachrome\ Mabellene
14. Bridge over Troubled Water
15. 50 Ways to Leave Your Lover
16. The Boxer
17. Old Friends
18. The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy)
19. The Sounds of Silence

01. Main Titles / Mrs. Robinson
02. Homeward Bound
03. America / Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard
04. Scarborough Fair / April Come She Will
05. Wake Up Little Suzie / Still Crazy After All These Years
06. American Tune / Late in the Evening
07. Slip Slidin’ Away
08. A Heart in New York
09. Kodachrome / Mabellene
10. Bridge over Troubled Water
11. 50 Ways to Leave Your Lover
12. The Boxer
13. Old Friends / Bookends / Feelin’ Groovy
14. The Sound of Silence
15. Late in the Evening / End Credits