Tag Archives: Rasputina

Cellist Serena Jost (Rasputina) To Release Third Solo Set, Up To The Sky

Decades back, an avant-garde electric cello choir trio by the name of Rasputina garnered some attention, enough to get the unusual band a contract with Columbia Records. Rasputina is the band name for Melora Creager, who has remained the force within Rasputina from inception, even today. Since formation, Rasputina has had more than a few members within its eclectic ranks. For the two Columbia albums (Thanks For The Ether – 1996, How We Quit The Forest – 1998), there was Melora, and Julia Kent, while two additional cellists filled in for each album. One of the original members -pre-album period- was an accomplished cellist by the name of Serena Jost.

As an original member of Rasputina before any album recordings by the band, she performed for 4AD band, Ultra Vivid Scene (as Rasputina) along with Melora and Julia on their Rev (1992) album.

Serena Jost released an album back in 2013. The album was called A Bird Will Sing, a follow-up to her 2008 set, Closer Than Far.

On April 6, a new album by Serena Jost will be released. It is called Up To The Sky, and will offer ten new tracks. Up To The Sky will be released on CD and DD formats by Second Kiss Records. For recording info, the album was recorded live inside St. Peter’s Church in Chelsea, NYC under the rafters with a spaced placement of eight microphones.

One of the tracks is a cover of a song by Molly Drake (“Happiness”), who is Nick Drake’s mother.

This is posted for fans of cello music by worthy musicians who are evocative and fresh. I find Serena Jost quite good. But I have been a fan of Rasputina since their beginnings.

Smoke Fairies Live Set To Release On LP In July

Smoke Fairies Live At St Pancras Old ChurchSmoke Fairies have a vinyl LP set coming that will offer the final night of an October 2013 tour of small churches and halls. The band was joined by two members of Rasputina, along with a noted multi-instrumentalist, Neil Walsh. The LP will contain ten songs recorded on the tour’s final night. The show was played at St Pancras Old Church in London.

The live album is being pressed on 180g-weight vinyl. It was originally planned for June 2015 release but production delays at the plant have pushed the LP to a July 6 date. The LP is titled Live at Pancras Old Church 24/10/13 – Featuring Rasputina, and will be a limited edition LP issue. There is no word whether this will find itself on CD and/or as digital downloads.

Live at Pancras Old Church 24/10/13 – Featuring Rasputina – Track-list:

01 – Fences
02 – The Water Waits
03 – Morning Light
04 – Living With Ghosts
05 – Troubles

01 – Sunshine
02 – When You Grown Old
03 – We Had Lost Our Minds
04 – Summer Fades
05 – Blood Speaks

If you’re a Smoke Fairies fan and like collection their music, don’t hesitate because limited edition presses often sell out quickly. You can order via this UK link.