Tag Archives: Pete Townshend

Debut Pete Townshend Solo Album, Who Came First, To Reissue As 45th Anniversary 2CD Set

Pete Townshend was one of four individuals that energized the band we’ve all come to love asThe Who. But even as he was a part of The Who, their creativity revolved around his song craft! And even though, The Who had plenty of his work, there was enough to slip into solo territory. In 1972, Pete Townshend rekeased his first solo album calling it, respectfully, Who Came First.

Who Came First was actually a hybrid of leftover Who constructs, especially after the capsize of Lifehouse (a Who/Townshend project) and its subsequent farming of songs that became Who’s Next (1971). Half of Who Came First was a foray into cover tunes. Upon release, it fed ravenous Who fans ably enough, charting well.

On April 13, a 2CD 45th Anniversary expansion of Who Came First will be reissued with an addition of eight bonus tracks, all previously unreleased. These will include edits, alternative tracks, and live tracks.

The 2CD Who Came First will be delivered in an eight-panel digipak, and will come with a replica poster as found in the original album release. The included 24-page booklet will contain new Townshend notes, as well as rare photos of Townshend in the studio with Meher Baba.

Who  Came Next (45th Anniversary Edition) – Pete Townshend

01. Pure and Easy
02. Evolution
03. Forever’s No Time At All
04. Let’s See Action
05. Time Is Passing
06. There’s a Heartache Following Me
07. Sheraton Gibson
08. Content
09. Parvardigar

Disc: 2
01. His Hands
02. The Seeker (2017 edit)
03. Day Of Silence
04. Sleeping Dog
05. Mary Jane (Stage A Version)
06. I Always Say (2017 Edit)
07. Begin The Beguine (2017 edit)
08. Baba O’Reilly (Instrumental)
09. The Love Man (Stage C)
10. Content (Stage A)
11. Day Of Silence (Alternate Version)
12. Parvardigar (Alternate take)
13. Nothing Is Everything
14. There’s A Fortune In Those Hills
15. Meher Baba In Italy
16. Drowned (live in India)
17. Evolution (live at Ronnie Lane Memorial)

Truancy: The Very Best Of Pete Townshend Leads Off Upcoming Solo Reissues, In June

Pete Townshend TruancyIf you don’t know who Pete Townshend is, well…

On June 30, UMe will release a Pete Townshend collection of tunes called Truancy: The Very Best Of Pete Townshend. This 17 track collection of newly remastered tunes will lead off a previously mentioned deal with UMe that will see the reissue of his nine solo albums.

Truancy will be beefed up with two new tracks, “Guantanamo”, and “How Can I Help You”. Truancy will feature new liner notes.

The following pieces are taken from the Press Release and are Pete Townshend’s words on the two new tracks:

“Pete Townshend on “Guantanamo”: “I thought this song might never see the light of day, but now President Obama has relaxed sanctions in Cuba, it is a happy sign he might go further. Technically this was created in rather a laborious way. I recorded a long organ drone using my vintage Yamaha E70 organ (used many times by me on Who and solo recordings in the past), and then cut it into something that sounded like a song using a feature unique to Digital Performer called ‘chunks.’ This creates blocks of groups of tracks that can be assembled and disassembled easily, like cutting multitrack analogue tape with a razor blade, but with less blood. The lyric grew out of the implicit angry frustration in the organ tracks.”

“Townshend again, “‘How Can I Help You’ was inspired partly by the frustrating emotional difficulties experienced by a valued colleague. He was in great physical pain and it drove him into depression. I performed an acoustic version of the song on my partner Rachel Fuller’s webcast show ‘In the Attic.’ I began this recording with an acoustic guitar, added drum loops and breaks then Gretsch and Rickenbacker 12-string guitars and John Entwistle’s hybrid Thunderbird-Fender Precision bass.””

The Townshend solo extended and remastered solo reissues are expected shortly, pushing outward through 2016.

Truancy: The Very Best Of Pete Townshend 

01 – Pure And Easy (from Who Came First)
02 – Sheraton Gibson (from Who Came First)
03 – Let’s See Action (Nothing Is Everything) (from Who Came First)
04 – My Baby Gives It Away (from Rough Mix)
05 – A Heart To Hang On To (from Rough Mix)
06 – Keep Me Turning (from Rough Mix)
07 – Let My Love Open The Door (from Empty Glass)
08 – Rough Boys (from Empty Glass)
09 – The Sea Refuses No River (from All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes)
10 – Face Dances (Pt. 2) (from All The Best Cowboys Have Chinese Eyes)
11 – White City Fighting (from White City)
12 – Face The Face (from White City)
13 – I Won’t Run Anymore (from The Iron Man)
14 – English Boy (from Psychoderelict)
15 – You Came Back (from Scoop)
16 – Guantanamo (New song)
17 – How Can I Help You (New song)


Review: Quadrophenia – Live In London – The Who (BD)

WhoQuadropheniaLiveInLondonQuadrophenia, the classic Who album from 1973 is one of Rock’s most powerful works. It no longer matters how it’s presented as the songs are a living thing that transcend their presentation. In July of 2013, Roger Daltrey, and Pete Townshend, the two remaining parts of The Who, played the entirety of Quadrophenia for a Wembley audience. It was recorded and is now a permanent part of our Who collection. And although Daltrey and Townshend have aged enough to not provide the same quality of performance that the band gave the album back when it was released, they still give the material a good go.

The just released Quadrophenia : Live In London video of the Wembley Arena show is a grand view of the songs.  The stage is heavy with musicians who play as accurate a reproduction of the songs as is possible. And even though the stage has many others, the spotlight remains on both Daltrey and Townshend.  With streaming video being played that flashback to the band’s early years, as well as video of a time many decades past that helped to encourage the original album’s production, the whole set is a miracle to watch.

Of course, Daltrey and Townshend no longer have the range of voice for their tunes. But none of that matters, nor does it seem to bother them much. You see, it’s Quadrophenia playing up there, folks. It doesn’t matter how Daltrey may not reach a certain pitch, he still nails the songs in a beautiful way.  Because of this, Quadrophenia: Live In London becomes an essential for Who fans, or more accurately, Quadrophenia fans.

At the point of “Bell Boy”, the song that required the participation of Keith Moon, a video is shown of him doing his parts. During this song, Daltrey is riveted to the video, back to the audience, and is clearly a man who loved a lost brother. It’s a beautiful thing to see even as Daltrey finishes with a kiss thrown to the video image of Moon.

The sound quality presented via the selectable DTS-HD Master Audio, and Dolby TrueHD for the 5.1 Surround is excellent. But just as excellent is the PCM stereo reproduction, which I preferred. (I’ve never been a true fan of 5.1 Surround but I do not decry its usefulness for the fans that appreciate it.) Just as beautiful is the sharp video that plays back for the viewer.

The Blu-ray contains a bonus set of six tracks outside the Quadrophenia set. Those songs include “Who Are You”, “You Better You Bet”, “Pinball Wizard”, “Baba O’Riley”. “Won;t Get Fooled Again”, and “Tea & Theatre”. Again, the songs test the vocal range of the singers, but even so, those songs are second fiddle to the real star on stage, the performance of the entire classic album of Quadrophenia.

Yes, it’s worth having and enjoying.

And now, for the most important of them all, the remix of Quadrophenia.

Release Date: June 10, 2014
Label: UMe

–Matt Rowe