Tag Archives: Panorama

Two of The Cars’ Classic Albums, Candy-O, and Panorama, To Be Reissued

The big news of the past 24 hours has to do with The Cars. Their last album, Move Like This, was a welcomed addition to heir already solid catalog of great, era-defining music found within six previous classic sets.And so it makes absolute sense to revisit their past.

On July 28, Rhino Records plan the reissue of two classic Cars albums, Candy-O (1979), and Panorama (1980). Both albums will be newly remastered. And both reissues will add in bonus tracks with previously unreleased songs, and two B-sides.

Candy-O was The Cars’ second album after their phenomenal debut. With a ton of expectation attached, it readily yielded up “Let’s Go”, and “It’s All I Can Do”.  For this new expansion, there will be seven additional tracks including the B-side to “Let’s Go”, with “That’s It”.

Panorama followed up a year later and provided “Touch and Go”, and two more songs that were minor hits. This reissue provides four bonus tracks that include the B-side to “Don’t Tell Me No” with “Don’t Go To Pieces”.

Both CD sets will also be reissued as vinyl 2LP sets, same date.

Candy-O – The Cars

01 Let’s Go
02 Since I Held You
03 It’s All I Can Do
04 Double Life
05 Shoo Be Doo
06 Candy-O
07 Night Spots
08 You Can’t Hold On Too Long
09 Lust For Kicks
10 Got A Lot On My Head
11 Dangerous Type
Bonus Tracks
12 Let’s Go (Monitor Mix)
13 Candy-O (Northern Studios Version)
14 Night Spots (Northern Studios Version)
15 Lust For Kicks (Monitor Mix)
16 Dangerous Type (Northern Studios Version)
17 They Won’t See You (Northern Studios Version)
18 That’s It (B-Side of “Let’s Go”)

Panorama – The Cars

01 Panorama
02 Touch and Go
03 Gimme Some Slack
04 Don’t Tell Me No
05 Getting Through
06 Misfit Kid
07 Down Boys
08 You Wear Those Eyes
09 Running To You
10 Up And Down
Bonus Tracks
11 Shooting For You (Previously Unreleased)
12 Be My Baby (Previously Unreleased)
13 The Edge (Previously Unreleased)
14 Don’t Go To Pieces (B-side of “Don’t Tell Me No” & “Gimme Some Slack”)


The Cars Get Complete Albums Box and ‘Best Of’ This Year

CARS The Elektra Years 1978-1987When the late ’70s arrived and bands were beginning to usher into the world a new generation of style, one of the bands that led the way was The Cars. Their first album, simply titled The Cars, produced three essential songs (“Good Times Roll”, “My Best Friend’s Girl”, “Just What I Needed”). While The Cars went on to produced a wealth of singles, it is those three that are representative of not only that band but that period.

The Cars released seven excellent albums that include their most recent, Move Like This, released in 2011. After the band’s sixth album, Door To Door, released in 1987, they disbanded.  But the band left behind a legacy of music and a representation of the times. In short, they became an integral part of history.

On March 11, Rhino and Elektra Records will team to release a 6CD Box of their first six, all with Benjamin Orr in the mix. The Box is being called The Elektra Years: 1978-1987. All of the albums will be remastered and, no doubt, a richly designed booklet included (I hope!).

The Cars Box Layout

Later in the year, an eighteen-track ‘best of’ will arrive (see track-list below). That single disc album is being called Moving In Stereo – The Best Of The Cars. It’s scheduled for May 6. Sadly, it will contain a variation of a track from the Move Like This set, which was released by Hear Music. It’s too bad Rhino didn’t acquire the rights to a song or two off The Cars’ last album, Move Like This, considering the unlikely chance of another coming from the band. Move Like This is a fine album!

Moving In Stereo The Best Of The Cars

Moving In Stereo: The Best Of The Cars – The Cars

01 – Just What I Needed
02 – Since You re Gone
03 – Let s Go
04 – You Might Think
05 – Shake It Up
06 – Drive
07 – Tonight She Comes
08 – My Best Friend s Girl
09 – Don t Tell Me No
10 – You re All I ve Got Tonight
11 – I m Not The One (Single Mix)
12 – Candy-O
13 – Heartbeat City
14 – Touch And Go
15 – Moving In Stereo
16 – Dangerous Type
17 – Sad Song (new Zdar Mix)
18 – Everything You Say (Live)

Both sets will be released on CD, DD, and vinyl LP versions.