Tag Archives: My Morning Jacket

TAPSheet: More (and More) Vinyl Releases – 06/14/2016

The vinyl tsunami continues unabated with a wave of more titles arriving. Here’s what we have coming up:

The latest album from The Monkees, Good Times!, is slated for 180g-weight vinyl, on August 12. The CD and DD releases occurred on May 27.

Monkees Good Times

Rise Records have two new label titles coming on vinyl on August 26. Those include Retrograde (CD and DD are arriving on July 22) by hardcore band, Crown The Empire, and Smile (debut CD and DD are arriving on July 15) by Cane Hill. Both titles are planned as colored vinyl pressings. Both will provide download rights card for the DD versions.

Crown The Empire Retrograde   Cane Hill Smile

Fueled by Ramen will release the new Young The Giant album, Home Of The Strange, on August 12. It will be issued on CD, DD, and vinyl LP.


Geffen Records have Live Through This, the 1994 album by Hole, planned for vinyl reissue on July 29.

Hole Live through This

Time/Life has a Limited Edition Purple Colored vinyl pressing of The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Live: Volume 1 on the calendar for August 12. It will contain ten tracks culled from classic moments of reunion performances and stage assemblies for the event.

The Rock And Roll Hall of Fame Live: Volume One – Various Artists:

LP – Side One
01 – Johnny B. Goode – Chuck Berry with Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band (1995)
02 – Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out — Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band (1999)
03 – A Change is Gonna Come – Al Green (1995)
04 – The Train Kept A-Rollin’ – Jeff Beck, Jimmy Page, Ron Wood, Joe Perry, Flea and Metallica (2009)
05 – Iron Man – Metallica (2006)

LP – Side Two
01 – Woodstock – James Taylor (1997)
02 – Sunshine of Your Love – Cream (1993)
03 – Blitzkrieg Bop – Green Day
04 – (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction – Mick Jagger, Bruce Springsteen and the Rock Hall Jam Band (1988)
05 – While My Guitar Gently Weeps – Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne, Steve Winwood, Dhani Harrison and Prince (2004)

On August 5, Nuclear Blast will release the latest Blues Pills album on vinyl (CD and DD comes on the same date). Lady In Gold will be pressed on 180g-weight gold vinyl.

Blues Pills Lady In Gold LP

It’s cool to note that the 2006 sophomore release of the Swedish band, The Sounds, called Dying To Say This To You, will be reissued on vinyl LP on July 15. This UK reissue will be pressed on 180g-weight vinyl. Now, I just have to hope that The Sounds’ excellent 2011 release, Something To Die For gets a vinyl reissue. Sadly, we’ve not heard anything from The Sounds since 2013’s Weekend.

The Sounds Dying To Say This To You

Atlantic Records will reissue a Mono version of Blues & Roots (1960) by Charlie Mingus, pressed on 180g-weight vinyl, on August 5.

Chalie Mingus Blues & Roots LP

Also on August 5, Rhino and Warner Brothers will reissue a 180g-weight vinyl edition of Amandla (1989), a collaboration between Miles Davis and Marcus Miller.

Miles Davis Amandla

ATO Records will reissue the 2006 Okonokos live set from My Morning Jacket, on July 29 in anticipation of two new albums from the band.

My Morning JAcket Okonokos

Rhino Records have a 12 song vinyl edition of Greatest Hits 1982-1989 (1989) featuring the music of Chicago. That LP arrives on August 2.


Elektra will release a 4LP Box of The Sisters Of Mercy 1990 album release, Vision Thing. This new box, with remastered title and 180g pressing, will present the original album, and three 12″ singles that include “More”, “Doctor Jeep”, and “When You Don’t See Me”. This Box is scheduled for July 29.

Sisters Of Mercy Vision Thing

Justin Time Essentials Collection will offer a vinyl 2LP set (with download card) of Lightnin’ HopkinsLighnin’s Boogie: Live At The Rising Sun Celebrity Jazz Club. The album will be pressed on 180g-weight vinyl. This set will be released on July 29.

LP 1:
Side A
1. Trouble in Mind
2. Mercy
3. Cooked My Breakfast
Side B
1. Hard to Love a Woman
2. Get up Off O’ Yo
3. Katie Mae

LP 2:
Side C
1. Goin’ to Louisiana
2. Forgot What to Say
3. Lightnin’s Boogie
Side D
1. I’m Coming Home
2. Early in the Morning Blues
3. My Babe
4. Rock Me Baby


Friday Music will reissue a newly remastered 180g 2LP gatefold edition of The Last Temptation, the 1994 Alice Cooper album. It is planned for July 29.

Alice Cooper The Last Temptation LP

Rhino has Earth, Wind & Fire coming on 180g vinyl LP, slated for July 22.

Geffen Records will reissue the best-selling Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers ‘best of’ from 1993. The set, Greatest Hits, will be issued on 2LP and is set for release on July 29.

Tom Petty Heartbreakers Greatest Hits

Rhino Records and WB will release two classic Madonna titles on 180g-weight vinyl on July 12. Those are True Blue (1986), and Like A Prayer (1989).

Madonna True Blue  Madonna Like A Prayer

Curb Records ha a 20th Anniversary Edition of Blue (1996) by LeAnn Rimes on the schedule for a July 8th release date. The vinyl will be pressed on blue colored vinyl. It will contain a download card.

LeAnn Rimes Blue

And finally, a VERY cool vinyl release expected from Motown Records involves the great track of “What’s Goin’ On?” by Marvin Gaye. On June 24, the label will release a 4-track 10″ vinyl set that will feature “What’s Goin’ On?” in an original A-side Mono single version, along with an unplugged “Coffeehouse” mix that brings a previously buried acoustic guitar part to the forefront, and muting other instrumental parts. There is also a new duet with The Chicago Kid of the song. To round out the set, an original A-side Mono single version of “God Is Love” is included. Both original Mono singles are featured on the A0side, while the two new mixes are located on the B-side of this set.

Marvin Gaye What's Goin' On Mono Single


Listening To Jim James And His Regions Of Light And Sound Of God Debut

Jim James Regions Of Light And The Sound Of GodI caught up with the latest episode of The Leftovers (episode 6). It starts with the silent approach of a scientist as he makes his way to Miracle, TX to talk with Nora concerning the disappearances of her family. As the scenes are played out, a song is overlaid that is captivating. (This series has a nice string of captivating songs that weave their way through the series scenes.) That song is “The State Of The Art (A.E.I.O.U.)”. It’s a song from Jim James.

Immediately, as I will do, I began looking for the song. I immediately found it and have been listening to the debut solo effort of Jim James since. The song is found on his 2013-issued album, Regions Of Light And Sound Of God. The album is populated with nine tracks, all with a bluesy feel to them.

Jim James is first and foremost a primary member of My Morning Jacket. His strength lies in his song-writing, and his thoughtful approach of it. His My Morning Jacket affiliation is compelling and important. But this solo album, which I did NOT know existed until The Leftovers is an extraordinary piece of work.

This post is merely to direct your attention to some new music that you may not have heard as of yet. Enjoy the video for “The State Of The Art (A.E.I.O.U.)” below. You may find is as compelling as you find My Morning Jacket.

Thanks, The Leftovers. Your contribution to my musical awareness is greatly appreciated.