Tag Archives: Memoirs Of A Madman

TAPSheet: Vinyl Release Notes – 08/29/2014 (US Report)

There’s a ton of vinyl releases on the calendar. I thought I’d better brig some of them to your attention (for the vinyl lover, in any case). Here we go:

With the light of the end of year holidays starting to show a the horizon, there are not only holiday CDs coming but plenty of holiday LPs as well. Listed, we have the following:

  • Hanukkah RocksThe LeeVees
  • Come On ChristmasDwight Yoakim
  • Christmas With Boystown ChoirThe Everly Brothers

Yoakim Come On Christmas

Those above listed LPs are slated for November 4 via the fine folks of Rhino Records.

Rhino will release Chicasgo Christmas: What’s It Gonna Be, Santa? The LP on vinyl LP, scheduled for November 11.

Friday Music have several Billy Joel titles planned for 180g-weight, limited editions on October 28. Those include River of Dreams, and Streetlife Serenade. In addition to those two, Friday Music have The 25th Of December by Bobby Darin on the calendar, same date.

Billy Joel River Of Dreams

Friday Music have also made room on the calendar for Reach For The Sky, the 1980 Arista release from The Allman Brothers Band. It is slated for October 28.

Legacy Recordings two releases from Jimi Hendrix are Rainbow Bridge, and The Cry Of Love street on September 16. These include vinyl LP releases.

Also on October 28, and also via Friday Music, is a 180g vinyl reissue for Party, the 1981 Iggy Pop Arista release.


Epic Records’ release of Memoirs Of A Madman, their 17 track ‘best of’ collection featuring the remastered hits of Ozzy Osbourne, will release on vinyl over 2LPs. One batch of LPs will be picture disc, while the others will be 180g-weight black vinyl. It is slated for release on October 14.

OzzyMemoirs Of A Madman

Suicide Squeeze Records will reissue Planet Of Ice, the 2007 best-seller title from Minus The Bear, on three different colors. With a run of 3000, there will be 1000 pressed on purple vinyl, 1000 pressed on ice vinyl, and 1000 pressed on the traditional black color.


On October 21, Warner Brothers Nashville will release Light Of the Stable, by Emmylou Harris, on 180-g vinyl.

Rhino Records promises vinyl for The Hunting Party, the June 2014 release of the new Linkin Park album. The 2LP set will feature D-side etching. It’s slated for October 21.

Rhino Records have several Mike Oldfield titles geared for 180g-weight vinyl. Those include Tubular Bells II, Tubular Bells III, Voyager, and The Songs Of Distant Earth. These are on the calendar for October 21.


Memoirs Of A Madman, An Ozzy Osbourne Collection, Is Pegged For October

OzzyMemoirs Of A MadmanWhen you talk about Ozzy Osbourne, you’re rewarded with a wealth of remembrances. Generally, those warm, fuzzy feelings emanate from his years with the seminal Black Sabbath. That’s especially true if you were Black Sabbath fans early in their career. But then there are his successful years as a solo artist after his dismissal from Black Sabbath.  In many ways, those solo years carried far more success than his Black Sabbath affiliation did even if you can not dismiss his ties with the band.

During his high profile run, Ozzy released six albums (Osbourne has released eleven solo albums thus far) that generated quite a few hits including “Crazy Train”, “Flying High Again”, “Bark At The Moon”, “Shot In The Dark”, and more. With several high profile band mates that included Randy Rhoads, and Zakk Wylde, Ozzy soared like a monster in the clouds. Both Wylde, and Rhoads are highly rated guitarists. Soon, however, drugs and alcohol played their factor cards, and the whole enterprise suffered for it. Nevertheless, Ozzy Osbourne enjoyed quite the ride.

On October 14, Epic Records and Legacy Recordings join to release a collection of 17 of the best tracks from the strong Ozzy period called Memoirs Of A Madman. As a bonus to the album, a live rendition of the Black Sabbath classic track, “Paranoid” is included.

Memoirs Of A Madman will be released on standard CD, an edited PA version, and two 2LP sets that include a traditional black pressing, and a picture disc set.

Track-List of Memoirs Of A Madman

  1. Crazy Train
  2. Mr Crowley
  3. Flying High Again
  4. Over The Mountain
  5. Bark At The Moon
  6. The Ultimate Sin
  7. Miracle Man
  8. No More Tears (Edit)
  9. Mama, I’m Coming Home
  10. Road To Nowhere
  11. Perry Mason
  12. I Just Want You
  13. Get Me Through
  14. Changes (with Kelly Osbourne)
  15. I Don’t Wanna Stop
  16. I Want To Hear You Scream
  17. Paranoid (Live)