Tag Archives: John Prine

John Prine To Release New Studio Album, The Tree Of Forgiveness

The history of John Prine is a long one. His beginnings are in the late ’60s as a folk/rock artist priming his stuff at the cool locations in Chicago. With the exception of the well-received Common Sense (1975), and his 2005 classic, Fair and Square (for which he won a Grammy for Best Contemporary Folk Album, his second), much of Prine was largely restricted to the adherents of the folk/rock style, and of those, the US market. In 1984, he started his own label, where he released the rest of his albums after his 1980 Asylum set, Storm Windows.

On April 13, John Prine will release his next album (his 16th studio album, and his first recordings since Fair and Square) on Oh Boy Records. It is calmingly called The Tree of Forgiveness. This new set will feature ten new songs, all self-written or co-authored with Dan Auerbach (The Black Keys), Pat McLaughlin, Roger Cooke, and Keith Sykes.

The first single out by Prine is the gorgeous “Summer’s End” (embedded below). It’s what we have long come to expect from the accomplished singer/songwriter so there are no surprises there, only a luxuriant feel of peace that well-delivered songs like “Summer’s End” can effect.

The Tree of Forgiveness will be released on CD, DD, and Limited Edition 180g-weight Translucent Green vinyl LP (with DD card included).

I can think of no better way to begin a new train of thought than with a new John Prine album.

The Tree of ForgivenessJohn Prine

01 – Knockin’ On Your Screen Door (John Prine/Pat McLaughlin)
02 – I Have Met My Love Today, ft. Brandi Carlile (John Prine/ Roger Cook)
03 – Egg & Daughter Nite, Lincoln Nebraska, 1967 (Crazy Bone)” (John Prine/Pat McLaughlin)
04 – Summer’s End (John Prine/Pat McLaughlin)
05 – Caravan of Fools(John Prine/Dan Auerbach/Pat McLaughlin)
06 – The Lonesome Friends of Science (John Prine)
07 – No Ordinary Blue (John Prine/Keith Sykes)
08 – Boundless Love (John Prine/Dan Auerbach/Pat McLaughlin)
09 – God Only Knows (John Prine/Phil Spector)
10 – When I Get to Heaven (John Prine)

John Prine will engage in a 44-date world tour that begins on April 11 in Woodstock, NY (Levon’s Place), and is planned to end on December 15 in Tucson, AZ (Fox Theatre). If you can, I’d recommend seeing him.

New John Prine Album, For Better For Worse

John Prine For Better, For WorseSince 1971, John Prine has been providing his fans with great Country and Folk experiences starting with his brilliant debut on Atlantic Records. For the record, that self-titled set is currently on Rolling Stone magazine’s Top 500 of Essential Rock albums. Since the release of John Prine, he has released more than fifteen studio albums, as well as a small number of collections and live sets. His last album, Singing Mailman Delivers, was released in 2011. (He was a mailman in Chicago before his first album release.)

On September 30, via his own Oh Boy Records, Prine will release his next studio set, a collection of collaborations called For Better, For Worse. This album will contain 14 tracks of solid songs performed with several classic artists that include Allison Krauss, Kathy Mattea, Iris Dement, Susan Tedeschi, and Lee Ann Womack, to name but a few. There will also be one track written and performed by John Prine alone, bringing the full number of songs to fifteen.

For Better, For Worse will be released on CD, DD, and vinyl LP.

For Better, For Worse – John Prine

01 – Who’s Gonna Take the Garbage Out (feat. Iris Dement)
02 – Storms Never Last (feat. Lee Ann Womack)
03 – Falling in Love Again (feat. Allison Krauss)
04 – Color of the Blues (feat. Susan Tedeschi)
05 – I’m Tellin’ You (feat. Holly Williams)
06 – Remember Me (When Candlelights Are Gleaming) [feat. Kathy Mattea]
07 – Look at Us (feat. Morgane Stapleton)
08 – Dim Lights, Thick Smoke, And Loud, Loud Music (feat. Amanda Shires)
09 – Fifteen Years Ago (feat. Lee Ann Womack)
10 – Cold, Cold Heart (feat. Miranda Lambert)
11 – Dreaming My Dreams with You (feat. Kathy Mattea)
12 – Mental Cruelty (feat. Kacey Musgraves)
13 – Mr. & Mrs. Used to Be (feat. Iris Dement)
14 – My Happiness (feat. Fiona Prine)
15 – Just Waitin’