Tag Archives: John Lydon

UK Record Store Day To Release PiL Album Breakout Of 2LP Concert Live At The Brixton Academy 27.5.86

A few years back, Public Image Ltd released Deluxe editions of some of their classic sets including the much loved Album. Contained within the generously  supplied edition was a live set from Brixton Academy circa 1986, the period of time in which Album was released.

The live Brixton Academy recordings consists of fourteen performance tracks. It’s now good news to note that an official release of the May 27, 1986 show will be reissued alone, apart from the Deluxe Edition of Album.

The set is being called – appropriately – Concert (live at the Brixton Academy 27.5.86). Currently, this is being marketed for UK Record Store Day as a 2LP vinyl set. This gatefold edition will include a fold out poster.

Record Store Day (UK) is scheduled for April 21.

Hopefully, a CD set will follow after the RSD promotions end for the PiL faithful and deserving CD adherents.

concert live at the brixton academy 27.5.86PiL

01 Kashmir
02 FFF
03 Low Life
04 Fishing
01 Poptones
02 Pretty Vacant
03 Banging The Door
04 Flowers Of Romance
05 Bags

01 Round
02 Home
01 Public Image
02 Rise
03 Annalisa


New PiL Album Coming In September, Preceded By Single In August

In 1978, after the demise of The Sex Pistols, John Lydon (or Johnny Rotten, however you want to name him) formed an excellent band with Public Image, Ltd, or PiL, for short. Since that assembly, which initially boasted a supreme lineup with Jah Wobble on bass, Keith Levene on guitar, and Jim Walker on drums, several excellent albums have been created.

The first album, First Issue, was released in 1978 and followed by nine more leading up to this new announcement of more PiL music. The last one, This Is PiL, was issued in 2012. It enjoyed moderate critical success.

PiL Double Trouble

The band, which has only Lydon as its mainstay, is assisted by Lu Edmonds, Scott Firth, and Bruce Smith. They have a new album planned for September 4 via the band’s official label, PiL Official. The new album is being called What The World Needs Now…. It will contain eleven new songs including the first single, “Double Trouble”. The fore-running track of “Double Trouble” is being released as a 10″ vinyl single with album track, “Bettie Page” on the flip side along with a non-album track, “Turkey Tits”. It will be released officially on August 21 via the band’s website. You can hear “Double Trouble” at its Soundcloud account or on an official YouTube video (hear below).

What The World Needs Now… will be released on CD, 2LP, and DD (via iTunes), or as FLAC, WAV, and MP3 via Bleep. You can pre-order via Cargo Records, the distributor of the titles.

PiL What The World Needs Now


What The World Needs Now… – PiL (Public Limited, Ltd)

01. Double Trouble
02. Know Now
03. Bettie Page
04. C’est La Vie
05. Spice of Choice
06. The One
07. Big Blue Sky
08. Whole Life Time
09. I’m Not Satisfied
10. Corporate
11. Shoom