Tag Archives: Hilary Hahn

Hilary Hahn With 2CD/2LP Retrospective

Hilary Hahn is an American violinist whose craft is in the replay of classic compositions from the eras of the great classical composers. While she does do some original material, her fame is in her recitations of solo Bach pieces. Her first concert appearance was at the young age of eleven where she performed with the Boston Symphony Orchestra. To date, she has released some twenty-one sets. Her debut was Hilary Hahn Plays Bach, released in 1997. Her second was a Beethoven violin concerto (so titled), with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, which was nominated for a Grammy as Best Instrumental Soloist Performance with Orchestra back in 1999.

Photo by Michael Patrick O’Leary Retrospective is released by Deutsche Grammophon

Since her debut, Hilary Hahn has become highly recognized for her magnificent ability as a soloist, and as a chamber musician. Her rising fame is well deserved.

On January 19, a concerted effort by Deutsche Grammophon (A Decca Classics imprint), and the crowd-funding Pledge Music will produce a 2CD retrospective with seventeen tracks (see track list below). There will also be a 2LP set designed and specially mastered for the medium.

The set is called Retrospective. It will be contained within a gatefolded case and packed with a booklet containing photos, notes, and fan art.

I love that she gets this kind of attention. Her violin playing is mesmerizing.

RetrospectiveHilary Hahn

01.-03. Violin Sonata in G major K 379, (Mozart)
4. Blue Curve of the Earth (Tina Davidson)
5. Mercy (Max Richter)
6. Double Concerto for 2 Violins, Strings and Continuo in D major BWV 1043  (Bach) – ii Largo ma non tanto
7. The Lark Ascending  (Ralph Vaughan Williams)
8. Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major K 526 (Mozart) – iii Presto
9. Violin Concerto No. 1 in D major op. 6 (Paganini)  – iii Rondo

1. Violin Concerto op. 36  (Schoenberg )– i Poco Allegro
2. St Matthew Passion (Bach) – ii Aria: Gebt mir meinen Jesum wieder
3. Violin Concerto (Dedicated to Hilary Hahn) (Jennifer Higdon)  – i 1726
4. Sonata for Violin and Piano No. 1 (Ives)– i Andante – Allegro vivace
5. Godot (Hahn & Hauschka)
6. When A Tiger Meets A Rosa Rugosa (Du Yun)
7. Two Voices (Nico Muhly)
8. Violin Concerto No. 4 in D minor op. 31 (Vieuxtemps) – ii Adagio religioso


TAPSheet: Release Notes – 01/13/2015 (US Report)

Real Gone Music will re-release a vinyl LP edition of an old-time Foghat favorite, Foghat Live. They will also re-release an old J. Geils Band favorite, Bloodshot. The Foghat Live album will be presented with its original die-cut cover. The Bloodshot album is planned to be pressed in red vinyl, just as the original first pressing was. Both releases will be presented in 180g-weight vinyl. Both albums are remastered for better sound. These Limited Edition reissues are set for March 3.



Dope Machines from The Airborne Toxic Event is slated for release on February 24.

MVD Visual will release a Johnny Winter live set, Live From Japan, scheduled for March 10. It will be issued on CD, and vinyl LP.

Johnny Winter Live In Japan

New Modest Mouse album, Strangers To Ourselves, will become available on March 3. This new album is the first new Modest Mouse set from them in approximately 8 years. “Lampshades On Fire” will precede the album as its first single. The new album will release on CD, DD, and 180g 2LP.

Modest Mouse Stranger To Ourselves

Spookshow International Live will be released by Rob Zombie, planned for February 12. It’s planned for CD, Deluxe CD, DD, and LP.

A new Luke Bryan album (title unknown) is expected to be released on March 10 via Capital Nashville.

Outer Battery Records will release a Limited Edition LP of Bug Live (Live at the 9:30 Club – Washington DC – June 2012) , by Dinosaur Jr.

Dinosaur Jr Bug Live

+180 Records will release Guitars And Microphones by Kate Pierson, with a planned release date of February 17.

UDR has Immortal Randy Rhoads – The Ultimate Tribute scheduled for March 3. The set will be available as a FanBox with 2LP (clear vinyl), and a t-shirt. Additional packages include CD, and a Deluxe Edition. This set features eleven songs co-written by Rnady Rhoads, and recorded by artists like Dweezil Zappa, Serj Tankian, Kelle Rhoads (his brother), and others.

Immortal Randy Rhoads

Rhino Records, in conjunction with Parlophone will release a 16-track collection of songs from Dr Feelgood from their years with Wilko Johnson before he left to do other things that included a stint with Ian Dury and The Blockheads. Wilko was a member of Dr Feelgood for the band’s first 4 albums. The collection is being called I’m A Man (Best Of The Wilko Johnson Years 1974-1977). It is expected on February 24. Dr. Feelgood was an amazing blues-based band, especially with Wilko Johnson.

What Happens Next is the new album by Gang Of Four, planned for February 24 via Metropolis Records.

Gang Of Four What Happens Next

I’m excited about a new Hilary Hahn release expected on March 31 via Deutsche Grammophon. Hilary Hahn is a violinist whose new album of violin concertos celebrate Mozart 5, Vieuxtemps 4. She is being supported by the Duetsche Kammerphilharmonic Bremen, conduced by Paavo Järvi.

Hilary Hahn Mozart 5

Allegro will release Al Di Meola’s Latest by Al Di Meola, planned for May 12 on CD, Deluxe Edition CD, DD, and LP.

Frontiers Records will release new Toto music with the upcoming Toto XIV, which is currently scheduled for March 24.

Loud and Proud Records will release a CD/DVD featuring Rick Springfield doing stripped down version of his previous songs that include “Jesse’s Girl”, “I’ve Done Everything For You”, and others. Surprisingly, there isn’t a “Speak To the Sky” in sight. The new album is called Stripped Down, and is planned for February 24.

Rick Springfield Stripped Down

For the fans, My Chemical Romance will release a 2LP collectible set of The Black Parade with etching on the 4th side (D-side). This edition of The black Parade is slated for release on February 10.

Metal Blade Records will release the 3CD set by Neal Morse, Grand Experiment, on February 10.

And finally, from one of our classic guitarists, Jorma Kaukonen, Red House Records will release the new album, Ain’t In No Hurry. For those of you who may not know (yeah, right!), Jorma played guitars for Jefferson Airplane, and Hot Tuna. Ain’t in No Hurry is scheduled for February 17.

Jorma Kaukonen Ain't In No Hurry