Tag Archives: Graham Parker And The Rumour

Squeezing Out Sparks Classic By Graham Parker Remastered With Bonus Live

With little arriving product information coming out in this usually slow month of December (and this month has been better than years past), I discovered something that even I got excited about even though it was released a few days previous.

On December 15, an independent label by the name of Quake Records, released a reissue of Squeezing Out Sparks, the magnificent and brilliant 1979 Graham Parker classic that is on the Rolling Stone Best 500 Rock Albums of All time list. The tracks here have been remastered for better sound although, by their own admission, it just does slightly better than the Arista reissue from 1996 that includes a collection of live versions of the album’s tracks. However, it’s said that the audio improvement is significant over the UK reissue from Vertigo/Mercury (2001).

This Quake Records reissue is not only remastered but will feature previously unheard live tracks from the band’s June 24, 1979 support show at the Paramount Theatre in Seattle, WA (see list below). The cover has been re-imagined as well.

Squeezing Out Sparks can be ordered here.

Squeezing Out Sparks (Original Album Remastered) – Graham Parker

01 – Discovering Japan
02 – Local Girls
03 – Nobody Hurts You
04 – You Can’t Be Too Strong
05 – Passion Is No Ordinary Word
06 – Saturday Nite Is Dead
07 – Love Gets You Twisted
08 – Protection
09 – Waiting For The UFO’s
10 – Don’t Get Excited

Squeezing Out Sparks Live (Paramount Theatre – Seattle, WA June 24, 1979)

11 – Discovering Japan
12 – Local Girls
13 – Nobody Hurts You
14 – You Can’t Be Too Strong
15 – Passion Is No Ordinary Word
16 – Saturday Nite Is Dead
17 – Protection
18 – Mercury Poisoning
19 – I Want You Back (Alive)
20 – Pourin’ It All Out

[UPDATE] New Graham Parker & The Rumour Album, Mystery Glue, Planned For May

Graham Parker Mystery GlueWe don’t always see new music from Graham Parker with his most successful affiliation, The Rumour. But, when I see those two names joined together, I get excited, despite their musical admonition not to.

On May 18 (UK), May 19 (US), Graham Parker & The Rumour will be releasing a brand new album, Mystery Glue. What’s extra special about Mystery Glue is the fact that it is musically powered by the original bandmates of The Rumour, who includes Brinsley Schwarz, Bob Andrews, Martin Belmont, Stephen Goulding, and Andrew Bodnar. Their last together, Three Chords Good, which was released in 2012, was an excellent add to the catalog. The timeless magic is still there.

Mystery Glue will contain twelve songs (track-list below).

Mystery Glue will be released via Universal on CD, and vinyl LP. The first 100 to pre-order either the CD or the LP via web-site, will be treated to a signed copy. Additionally, a pre-order will enter you into a contest that could award five fans (you?) with an exclusive acoustic performance by Graham Parker.

Track List – Mystery Glue

01.Transit Of Venus
02.Going There
03.Wall Of Grace
04.Swing State
05.Slow News Day
06.Railroad Spikes
07.Flying Into London
08.Pub Crawl
09.I’ve Done Bad Things
10.Fast Crowd
11.Long Shot
12.My Life In Movieland