Tag Archives: Friends

Led Zeppelin Furthers 50th Anniversary With RSD Issue of 7″ Mix Single of “Rock And Roll”

Led Zeppelin has been in the news quite a bit lately. So much so, I would NOT be surprised if they officially announced a tour, maybe even record another album. And while the album might be far-fetched, the tour thing might not be. Jason Bonham has been asked to quit using the name ‘The Led Zeppelin Experience‘. And with Jimmy Page going off on a secretive series of upcoming releases, but starting with a new version of How The West Was Won, and hinting at another valued live set. And then this:

On Record Store Day (April 21), Atlantic Records will be releasing a I’m sure to be sold out and become a collector’s item 7″ vinyl single of “Rock and Roll” in a Sunset Sound mix, backed with an Olympic Studios mix of “Friends“.

The “Rock and Roll” Sunset Sound mix was recorded during the IV period while the “Friends” Olympic Studios mix was recorded during the Led Zeppelin III sessions in 1970. The 7″ vinyl single will be pressed on yellow color vinyl.

Bette Midler’s 1972 Debut, The Divine Ms M, Gets 2CD Deluxe Edition

the-divine-ms-m-de-bette-midlerette Midler’s breathy and sexy “Do You Want To Dance?” was great song found in a great album released way back in 1972. The single mix was my first exposure to Bette Midler during my diminishing AM fascination. I was fifteen. That song alone brought me to a deeper exploration of her debut album. With great renditions of “Superstar”, a Bonnie Bramlett/Leon Russell track popularized by the Carpenters, “Hello In There” written by the inimitable John Prine, and the Buzzy Linhart song, “Friends”, The Divine Ms M album was a fine album by a great voice. By the time of her second, I was ready. I enjoyed the gospel-like take on “Your Love Keeps Lifting Me (Higher and Higher)”, and appreciated the Bette Midler version of “I Shall Be Released” (still, no one does that song like Richard Manuel!). And so, it’s good news to me to find that Rhino will be restoring The Divine Ms M with a new reissue.

On October 21, Rhino will reissue The Divine Ms M in a newly remastered 2CD set that will add in an additional nine bonus tracks. Those include single edits of “Do You Want To Dance?”, “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy” (which I wasn’t so fond of)”, “Friends”, and “Chapel Of Love”. The remaining five song are previously unreleased and include an alternate version of “Superstar” (that I’d like to hear!), two demos, and two early versions of songs.

Enjoy the remastered single mix of the song that started Bette Midler’s career:


New White Lies Album, Friends, Arriving In October

White Lies - FriendsWhite Lies came to our attention with the excellent To Lose My Life back in 2009. Labeled as a Post-Punk band, this UK band has released only three studio sets, their previously mentioned debut, Ritual (2011), and Big TV (2013). None of those albums disappointed. (Read my 2013 mention of Big TV here.) With no surprise, all three of these albums reached the enviable position of Top 5 on the UK charts. In the rest of the world, White Lies was noticed favorably.

On October 7, after a long three year wait, White Lies returns with a brand new album. The album will be called Friends, and will contain a treasure chest of ten brand new tracks. The new album is being released by BMG, their first for the re-emerging label.

Friends will be issued on CD, DD, and vinyl LP.

Friends – White Lies

01. Take It Out On Me
02. Morning In LA
03. Hold Back Your Love
04. Don’t Want To Feel It All
05. Is My Love Enough
06. Summer Didn’t Change a Thing
07. Swing
08. Come On
09. Right Place
10. Don’t Fall