Tag Archives: Dick’s Picks

Volume 35 of Dick’s Picks Grateful Dead Live Sets Arrives In January

The latest addition to the Dick’s Picks collection of live Grateful Dead will be released on January 6th as a 4CD set. Volume 35 is being issued by Real Gone Music. The dates include San Diego, CA – 08/07/71, and Chicago, IL – 08/24/71.

The story surrounding Volume 35 is an amazing one. These 1/4″ tapes were given to Keith Godchaux by Jerry Garcia as a means to learn the band’s repertoire. The tapes were misplaced, and rediscovered some 35 years later by Keith’s brother. They had to be restored and remastered for this release. But they’re here now. This set includes the entire San Diego show, what could be recovered of the Chicago show, and, as a bonus, the end of the 08/06/71 Hollywood Bowl show.

This set is limited to an ultra rare pressing of only 300 copies.

CD1: (San Diego Set One)
01. Big Railroad Blues
02. El Paso
03. Mr. Charlie
04. Sugaree
05. Mama Tried
06. Bertha
07. Big Boss Man
08. Promised Land
09. Hard to Handle
10. Cumberland Blues
11. Casey Jones
San Diego Set Two
12. Truckin’

CD2: (San Diego Set Two (cont.))
01. China Cat Sunflower
02. I Know You Rider
03. Next Time You See Me
04. Sugar Magnolia
05. Sing Me Back Home
06. Me and My Uncle
07. Not Fade Away
08. Goin’ Down the Road
Feeling Bad
09. Jam
10. Johnny B. Goode
Chicago Show
11. Uncle John’s Band
12. Playing in the Band
13. Loser

CD3: Chicago Show (cont.)
01. It Hurts Me Too
02. Cumberland Blues
03. Empty Pages
04. Beat It On Down the Line
05. Brown-Eyed Woman
06. St. Stephen
07. Not Fade Away
08. Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad
09. Not Fade Away
10. Me and Bobby McGee
11. Big Boss Man
12. Brokedown Palace

CD4: (Chicago Show (cont.))
01. Good Lovin’
Bonus Tracks (Hollywood Bowl – 08/06/71)
02. The Other One
03. Me and My Uncle
04. The Other One
05. Deal
06. Sugar Magnolia
07. Morning Dew
08. Turn On Your Lovelight


TAPSheet: Release Notes – 02/11/2015 (US Report)

Columbia Records, with Legacy Recordings, will release several Essential series titles that will include sets for Coheed And Cambria (26 tracks), Rob Halford (30 tracks), and Judas Priest (34 tracks). All three 2CD sets are planned for March 31.

Essential Judas Priest  Essential Rob Halford   Essential Coheed And Cambria

Curb Records will release the new Hank Williams III album, Take As Needed For Pain, on April 14. This set will be issued on CD, and Gold-colored vinyl LP.

Hank Williams III Take As Needed For Pain

RCA Records will release four 5 Original Album Classic series titles for John Denver, Paul Simon, Kansas, and for Janis Joplin, with 5 CDs containing 65 songs for the John Denver set, 72 songs for the Paul Simon set, 49 tunes for the Kansas collection, and 49 tracks for the Janis Joplin set. They’re all scheduled for March 24.

Merge Records will release The Champ by The Mountain Goats planned for April 7 on CD, DD, and vinyl LP.

Warner Brothers will release Second Hand Heart by Dwight Yoakam on April 14.

Dwight Yoakam Second Hand Heart

XL Records have Von from Sigur Ros planned for release on March 31.

Epic Records will release Strangers To Ourselves, the new album by Modest Mouse, on March 17. the new album will be available on CD, DD, and vinyl LP.


Real Gone Music has slated two new Dick’s Picks titles from the live vaults featuring The Grateful Dead. These two titles are Dick’s Picks Volume 9: Madison Square Garden, New York, NY  9/16/90, and Dick’s Picks Volume 11: Stanley Theatre, Jersey City, NJ 9/27/72. these two volumes are planned for March 31.

84806400346_66_3336777   84806400345_66_3336773

Legacy Recordings have The Centennial Collection featuring Billie Holiday on the calendar for March 31. It will offer 20 tracks from the Holiday catalog, with some tracks from her 78RPM singles.

Provogue/Mascot Records have Into The Sun by Robben Ford arriving on March 31, CD and LP.

Legacy Recordings plan a new album by Steve Vai for April 7. The album is called Stillness In Motion.

Fans of The Sound Of Music will be pleased to note that Legacy Recordings have a 50th Anniversary Legacy Edition planned for March 10. The Legacy CD will contain the original soundtrack score and expand on that with additional pieces.

Sound Of Music Score 50th Anniversary Legacy Edition


Rhino Records will release several Pogues titles on vinyl LP, 180g style! The titles are Red Roses For Me, Poguetry In Motion, Peace And Love, and Hell’s Ditch. These sets are expected on March 17.

Ringo Starr will release his next studio effort, Postcards From Paradise, on March 31. the new album will be presented on CD, DD, and vinyl LP.

Ringo Postcards From Paradise

Overcoat Records will release a new Glen Hansard album, It Was Triumph We Once Proposed…Songs Of Jason Molina, on March 17.