Tag Archives: Chris Hillman

The Asylum Years Features Chris Hillman Sets On Single CD

Chris Hillman was an essential part of the Byrds empire as much responsible for their growth as any of the others. His involvement lasted from their first album, Mr Tambourine Man (1965) through their sixth, Sweetheart Of The Rodeo (1968), and then again for their final album, Byrds (1973). Afterwards, Chris Hillman was involved in a series of projects including time with The Flying Burrito Brothers, Manassas, The Desert Rose Band, and a well-received solo career that has produced seven titles including his latest Rounder issue, Bidin’ My Time from late 2017.

On February 9, Omnivore Recordings will release a 20-track collection from Hillman’s Asylum Records years that includes Slippin’ Away (1976), and Clear Sailin’ (1977). The set will be called simply The Asylum Years. In essence, you can view this as a reissue of his two Asylum catalog titles in one CD set.

Included within the set will be a booklet  with essay. a new interview with Hillman, photos, and credits.

The Asylum Years (Slippin’ Away/Clear Sailin’) – Chris Hillman:
01. Step On Out
02. Slippin’ Away
03. Falling Again
04. Take It On The Run
05. Blue Morning
06. Witching Hour
07. Down In The Churchyard
08. Love Is The Sweetest Amnesty
09. Midnight Again
10. (Take Me In Your) Lifeboat
11. Nothing Gets Through
12. Fallen Favorite
13. Quits
14. Hot Dusty Roads
15. Heartbreaker
16. Playing The Fool
17. Lucky In Love
18. Rollin’ And Tumblin’
19. Ain’t That Peculiar
20. Clear Sailin’


New Chris Hillman Album, Bidin’ My Time, Planned for September

Byrds fans are likely happy with the fact that a new album by Chris Hillman is just around the corner. And it’s bringing a few surprises along with it. Hillman was a part of The Byrds, the Flying Burrito Brothers, Manassas, as well as his own solo projects.

On September 22, Hillman will be releasing his new solo effort, Bidin’ My Time. The album will contain twelve songs including a reworked version of Davies and Seeger’s “The Bells of Rhymney”. That song was first recorded by The Byrds for their Mr Tambourine Man debut back in 1965. “Here She Comes Again” is getting a proper studio version on this new album. Other surprises include a new studio work of “Old John Robertson” as well as “She Don’t Care About Time”, which was a B-side to “Turn! Turn! Turn!”.

For Bidin’ My Time, Chris Hillman will be joined by David Crosby, and Roger McGuinn on some tracks. Also in the mix are Benmont Tench, and Mike Campbell. Tom Petty produced the album. Rounder Records will issue the album.

Bidin’ My Time will be released on CD, LP, and DD. Hillman will embark on a 19-date US tour in support of the album.

Bidin’ My Time – Chris Hillman

01. Bells of Rhymney
02. Bidin’ My Time
03. Given All I Can See
04. Different Rivers
05. Here She Comes Again
06. Walk Right Back
07. Such Is The World That We Live In
08. When I Get a Little Money
09. She Don’t Care About Time
10. New Old John Robertson
11. Restless
12. Wildflowers