Tag Archives: 50th Anniversary Collection

New Career Spanning 50th Anniversary Jethro Tull 3CD Set, 50 For 50

Jethro Tull has been one of the more active bands in presenting complete and definitive updates of their entire catalog. For many fans, that has been a boon in keeping a valid and refreshing audio experience (along with assorted previously unreleased stuff, era live sets, and demos, etc.)  within our grasp. If you ask me, it’s necessary to many of us to maintain a symbiotic relationship between band and fan.

On May 25, Rhino and Parlophone Records will release a career-spanning collection of fifty classic Jethro Tull tracks, all personally curated by Ian Anderson. Without question, the track-list of 50 For 50 is a ‘best of’ collection but goes a huge leap beyond that. With representative songs from each album over their fifty year period, this set presents a great overview of the band, the like that can only be reproduced in equal worth by your own created playlist.

Before we go further, let me note to you that none of these tracks are newly remastered. They will present the last remastering (or best last remastering) of each song.

In addition to the 3CD, 50-song overview, there will be a single CD with a selected fifteen songs, and will be called 50th Anniversary Collection.

50 For 50Jethro Tull

01 Nothing Is Easy (2001 Remastered Version)
02 Love Story (2001 Remastered Version)
03 Beggar’s Farm (2001 Remastered Version)
04 Living In The Past (2001 Remastered Version)
05 A Song For Jeffrey (2001 Remastered Version)
06 A New Day Yesterday (2001 Remastered Version)
07 The Witch’s Promise (2013 Remastered Version)
08 Mother Goose
09 With You There To Help Me (2001 Remastered Version)
10 Teacher (US Version) [2013 Remastered Version]
11 Life Is A Long Song
12 Sweet Dream (2001 Remastered Version)
13 Aqualung
14 Minstrel In The Gallery (2001 Remastered Version)
15 Critique Oblique (Stereo Mix)
16 Weathercock (2003 Remastered Version)
17 Cross Eyed Mary

01 Bouree (2001 Remastered Version)
02 Dun Ringill (2004 Remastered Version)
03 Heavy Horses (2003 Remastered Version)
04 Hunting Girl (2003 Remastered Version)
05 Bungle In The Jungle (2002 Remastered Version)
06 Salamander (2002 Remastered Version)
07 Pussy Willow (2005 Remastered Version)
08 Too Old To Rock ‘N’ Roll (2002 Remastered Version)
09 Songs From The Wood (2003 Remastered Version)
10 The Whistler (2003 Remastered Version)
11 Really Don’t Mind/See There a Son Is Born
12 Moths (2003 Remastered Version)
13 One White Duck/010 = Nothing At All (2002 Remastered Version)
14 Cup Of Wonder (2003 Remastered Version)
15 Ring Out Solstice Bells
16 Skating Away (On The Thin Ice Of The New Day) (2002 Remastered Version)
17 A Christmas Song

01 One Brown Mouse (2003 Remastered Version)
02 Rare And Precious Chain (2006 Remastered Version)
03 Kissing Willie (2006 Remastered Version)
04 Rocks On The Road (2006 Remastered Version)
05 Fylingdale Flyer (2004 Remastered Version)
06 Paparazzi (2005 Remastered Version)
07 North Sea Oil (2004 Remastered Version)
08 Steel Monkey (2005 Remastered Version)
09 Black Sunday (2004 Remastered Version)
10 European Legacy (2005 Remastered Version)
11 Budapest (2005 Remastered Version)
12 Broadsword (2005 Remastered Version)
13 Dot Com
14 Farm On The Freeway (2005 Remastered Version)
15 This Is Not Love (2006 Remastered Version)
16 Locomotive Breath

50th Anniversary CollectionJethro Tull

01 Love Story (2001 Remastered Version)
02 Living In The Past (2001 Remastered Version)
03 Life Is A Long Song
04 Sweet Dream (2001 Remastered Version)
05 The Witch’s Promise (2013 Remastered Version)
06 Aqualung
07 Dun Ringill (2004 Remastered Version)
08 Cross Eyed Mary
09 Bouree (2001 Remastered Version)
10 Bungle In The Jungle (2002 Remastered Version)
11 Steel Monkey (2005 Remastered Version)
12 Too Old To Rock ‘N’ Roll (2002 Remastered Version)
13 Ring Out Solstice Bells
14 Farm On The Freeway (2005 Remastered Version)
15 Locomotive Breath

Neil Diamond Delivers 3CD/50 Track 50th Anniversary Collection

One of the more prolific artists for many years is Neil Diamond. With the several labels that he has been signed to, he was a goldmine. Over the years, there has been a wealth of collections to celebrate the periods of his productivity. His first widely received and sold collection came from MCA Records. That collection is His 12 Greatest Hits, still his best-selling collection to date. Capitol Records, which is his current home for ALL of his albums, hopes to change that with a new career-spanning collection.

On March 31, watch for a 3CD set called 50th Anniversary Collection. It will bring together all of the remastered hits and well-played deep cuts produced by Neil Diamond over the course of his strong 50 years as a recording artist. The 3CD will contain 50 tracks (see track-list below), all selected by Neil Diamond himself for this collection.

50th Anniversary Collection begins with Neil’s first charting hit, “Solitary Man”, and closes with a track off his latest album, “The Art of Love” (from Melody Road).

This 3CD 50th Anniversary Collection may not be for everyone, Certainly, it isn’t for me. I had little to no love for much beyond 1977’s I’m Glad You’re Here With Me Tonight. That was the first production by Bob Gaudio, which led to a different Neil Diamond, song-wise. Even with that album, I had to adapt. Of course, I obviously do not speak for the tons of fans that DID enjoy that prolific period. And this collection is for them.

While there are many compilations of Neil’s music out there, this one loosely addresses the whole spectrum. If you’re a fan of Neil Diamond throughout, enjoy!

50th Anniversary Collection – Neil Diamond

01. Solitary Man
02. Cherry, Cherry
03. I’ve Got The Feeling (Oh No No)
04. You Got To Me
05. Girl, You’ll Be A Woman Soon
06. I’m A Believer
07. Thank The Lord For The Night Time
08. Red, Red Wine
09. Sunday Sun
10. Shilo
11. Kentucky Woman
12. Brooklyn Roads
13. Glory Road
14. Holly Holy
15. And The Grass Won’t Pay No Mind
16. Sweet Caroline
17. Brother Love’s Traveling Salvation Show

01. Done Too Soon
02. Soolaimon
03. Cracklin’ Rosie
04. Crunchy Granola Suite
05. I Am…I Said
06. Stones
07. Morningside
08. Song Sung Blue
09. Play Me
10. Be – Recapitulation And Farewell To Fletcher
11. Skybird
12. Lonely Looking Sky
13. I’ve Been This Way Before
14. Longfellow Serenade
15. Beautiful Noise
16. Street Life
17. If You Know What I Mean

01. Desirée – Single Version
02. You Don’t Bring Me Flowers
03. Forever In Blue Jeans
04. September Morn
05. The Story Of My Life
06. Yesterday’s Songs
07. I Believe In Happy Endings
08. Hello Again
09. Love On The Rocks (From “The Jazz Singer” Soundtrack)
10. Heartlight
11. Lady-Oh
12. Pretty Amazing Grace
13. Hell Yeah
14. We
15. The Art Of Love
16. America (From ‘The Jazz Singer’ Soundtrack)