New Spock’s Beard Album, Noise Floor

Spock’s Beard has long been a favorite of Prog fans. Their last studio album was back in 2015 with The Oblivion Particle. With twelve albums since their The Light debut back in 1995, it is nice to see how the band is becoming more noticed than ever before. The Oblivion Particle was a hit in today’s numbers with good action throughout the world. But now it’s 2018, and fans are ready for more.

On May 25, Spock’s Beard will release their next album, Noise Floor. With a collection of eight original songs, plus the inclusion of a bonusĀ  EP set of four outtakes from the recording sessions, this new album is ready to thrill fans.

Noise Floor will be available as a 2CD digipak edition, DD, and a 2LP edition.

Noise FloorSpock’s Beard

CD1 (Noise Floor):
01 – To Breathe Another Day
02 – What Becomes Of Me
03 – Somebody’s Home
04 – Have We All Gone Crazy Yet
05 – So This Is Life
06 – One So Wise
07 – Box of Spiders
08 – Beginnings

CD2 (Cutting Room Floor EP):
01 – Days We’ll Remember
02 – Bulletproof
03 – Vault
04 – Armageddon Nervous


YES To Re-Release Fly From Here As Remixed Fly From Here – Return Trip

A bit ago, I had mentioned the upcoming remixed edition of Fly From Here, the 2011 studio set recorded with vocals by Benoit David. As a change, the new YES band lineup has opted to re-record the vocals mix with new vocal tracks by Trevor Horn and then remix the original album with those new tracks. As a qualifying bonus, a previously release Japanese issued full length song (“Hour of Need”) has been added to the package, which is being called Fly From Here – Return Trip.

Fly From Here – Return Trip is being scheduled for world release after the exclusive availability for Fan Convention Day on March 25, which is to say, March 26 (right?!). The remixed reissue will be offered as DD, CD (a 16-page digibook), and 180g-weight vinyl LP in a gatefold jacket (in June), and a picture disc (also in June).

No matter your stance on this recreation of history, this is a new listen to a previously released YES issue.


Three U2 Classics To Be Reissued On Vinyl

U2 has left behind many a classic albums. Where you stand on them is your business. Some might declare the first three sets the greatest ever. Some may herald their after works (from those three) to be their defining moments. I, myself, began tapering off with the release of Joshua Tree. Nothing since has spoken to me the way Unforgettable Fire had. But nevertheless, that is my journey. Yours is likely quite different. One of my U2 loves is the 4-track EP, Wide Awake In America. Released in 1985, it contained two The Unforgettable Fire outtakes and two live tracks. It eventually went platinum, an amazing feat for an EP.

On April 13, three classic U2 albums will be reissued on 180g-weight vinyl, some newly remastered for the vinyl experience. Those titles include Wide Awake in America, Pop, and All That You Can’t Leave Behind. Each new vinyl set will include a download card for digital download versions.

Also, all vinyl sets for this series will be housed in gatefold jackets with restored artwork. Pop (Happy birthday! March 3, you’re 21 years old!) will come with a lyric sheet, and printed inner sleeves. All That You Can’t Leave Behind will provide a 16-page booklet with photos and lyrics.

(Yes, I will be ordering the Wide Awake in America vinyl when the site becomes available to pre-order. The other two titles are currently up.)