Stand Up, Jethro Tull Second Album Gets Remix Magic by Steven Wilson

Jethro Tull - Stand UpThe finely tuned folks over at the Steve Hoffman Forums have uncovered the next Jethro Tull remix as done by Steven Wilson. The selected album is Stand Up, the band’s second album, which was released in 1969.  It looks to be quite a rich reissue with plenty of added goodness as we’ve come to expect by Steven Wilson.

On November 18, Stand Up – The Elevated Edition will present with a wealth of bonus goodies that will please fans (see complete list below). Stand Up, under the trusted watch of Steven Wilson will offer the original album remixed, as well as provide higher resolution Stereo remixes, 5.1 Surround mixes in Dolby Digital and DTS. As the mouth-watering track list reveals, there will be a collection of other good things that include Stereo and Mono mixed singles, promo issues, Mono BBC Sessions tracks, a second CD filled with a live show from a January 9, 1969 set, The Stockholm Konserthuset. As if that weren’t enough, there are audio radio spots, and two video footage segments from the Stockholm show.

Stand Up – Jethro Tull (2CD/1DVD)
The Elevated Edition

CD1: (Stereo remixes – Steven Wilson)
01- A New Day Yesterday
02- Jeffrey Goes To Leicester Square
03- Bouree
04- Back To The Family
05- Look Into The Sun
06- Nothing Is Easy
07- Fat Man
08- We Used To Know
09- Reasons For Waiting
10- For A Thousand Mothers

Associated Recordings
11- Living In The Past
12- Driving Song
13- Bouree (Morgan version)
14- Living In The Past (Original 1969 Stereo single mix – Only released in Japan and on a US FM radio promo -Previously unreleased)
15- Driving Song (Original 1969 Stereo single mix – Only released in Japan and on a US FM radio promo -Previously unreleased)
16- A New Day Yesterday (BBC Sessions – Mono, previously released on the 2010 Collector’s Edition)
17- Fat Man (BBC Sessions – Mono, previously released on the 2010 Collector’s Edition)
18- Nothing Is Easy (BBC Sessions – Mono, previously released on the 2010 Collector’s Edition)
19- Bouree (BBC Sessions – Mono, previously released on the 2010 Collector’s Edition)

Live at The Stockholm Konserthuset 9th January 1969
01- Introduction
02- My Sunday Feeling
03- Martin’s Tune
04- To Be Sad Is A Mad Way To Be
05- Back To The Family
06- Dharma For One
07- Nothing Is Easy
08- A Song For Jeffrey
09- To Be Sad Is A Mad Way To Be (First show version)
10- Living In The Past (Original 1969 mono single mix)
11- Driving Song (Original 1969 mono single mix)
12- Stand Up Radio spot # 1 (Previously released on the 2010 Collector’s Edition)
13- Stand Up Radio spot # 2 (Previously released on the 2010 Collector’s Edition)

DVD (Audio & Video)
1- Steven Wilson remixes in 96/24 PCM stereo and DD/DTS 5.1 surround
2- 96/24 flat transfer of Stand Up original stereo master tapes from 5th June 1969
3- 96/24 flat transfer of original 1969 mono & stereo mixes of Living In The Past & Driving Song

Video footage from Stockholm 1969
01 – To Be Sad Is A Mad Way To Be
02 – Back To The Family


32CD Career Wishbone Ash Box Coming

If you are a dedicated fan of Wishbone Ash, then the following news will put you in a tizzy. It;s not new news, but new enough that some of you are unaware as of yet. Worse, the pertinent details are missing. It may even be until some later point in 2017 before we’re comprised of the fullness of the box. BUT…

Possibly in September of 2017, Snapper Records will release a new remastered 32CD Box called Wishbone Ash – The Vintage Years (I’m hoping for a better title than that!). It is being said that “ancient 24-track masters” have been located (Wishbone Four? There’s The Rub?), which gives me massive hope for a proper remaster of Wishbone Four (if that is what is meant).The box will deal exclusively with Wishbone Ash music from 1969 to 1990.

In addition to the massive serving of WA music, there will be a coffee-table book with “photos, artifacts, and historical material” included!

That’s all of the news available on this set for now. But rest assured, I WILL update as new information becomes available. I already have emails out the door to those that can help.

This is the BEST news I’ve heard all of 2016! (Thanks to Steve Talia, and to John Fell for the heads up!)

Wishbone Ash

Review: Something To Ruin – Ages And Ages

Ages To Ages Something To RuinMusic is a long, long running addiction for me. I listen to way more of it than I should, which seriously reduces my time to fully appreciate the classics and any new artists that I find to be of worth. But the other side of it is that I can find new bands and artists that are worth more than a single listen. One of the new bands that I’ve run across is Ages and Ages.

Ages And Ages is a band from Portland, OR. that employ a delightful harmonic sound to all of their songs. The songs are Pop/Rock-oriented by design. At times, they have a cool retro ’60s quality that warms the synapses as you listen. If you are somewhat familiar with early Coldplay, then you have a sense of what Ages and Ages can sound like at times.

On their newest album, Something To Ruin, which was released on August 19, there is a strong experimentation within its grooves. Electronic layers, with touches of musical quirkiness, all blended in with a church-like chorus of voices makes for an interesting listen. As mentioned before, with their occasional ’60s-styled harmonies (“Something To Ruin”, “All Of My Enemies”), their new album is a treat waiting to be fully enjoyed. And with songs like “They Want More”, the catchy Modest Mouse-like pop tune that begins the album, it’s easy to be lured in.

Something To Ruin uses the theme of a wasting world returning to nature, and rampant, trespassing greed. It’s available on CD, DD, and vinyl LP via Partisan Records.


New Marianne Faithfull Live Set, No Exit

Marianne Faithfull No ExitMarianne Faithfull has such a long, rich history of Rock and Roll involvement that it’s almost impossible to not recall her during a visit to almost any period of it. With an extraordinary and captivating beauty (ask Mick Jagger), Marianne Faithfull left quite an impression on our Rock psyches. She did mine!

With classic early albums like Marianne Faithfull (1964) with “As Tears Go By”, sung in her unique voice, and her comeback efforts in the late ’70s beginning with the incredibly bold, wild, and right on musical target Broken English (1979). She has left behind an attractive music legacy with her recorded studio efforts. Throughout, Marianne Faithfull has shown a strong resilient side of her that many of us Faithfull fans are quite pleased she has. She’s not the same singer now as she was in the past. She’s better!

On September 30, earMUSIC will release several versions of a Marianne Faithfull live set called No Exit. Details are spotty (I have requests for greater depth in the email system) but with the inclusion of tracks from her last studio album, Give My Love To London (2014), the live set is definitely a recent one. No Exit is pegged for a standard CD issue, DD, vinyl LP, as well as an essential Deluxe CD/DVD Edition.

I’ll update as I discover more (if necessary).

No Exit — Marianne Faithfull

01 – Intro
02 – Falling Back
03 – The Price Of Love
04 – Love More Or Less
05 – As Tears Go By
06 – Mother Wolf
07 – Sister Morphine
08 – Late Victorian Holocaust
09 – Sparrows Will Sing
10- The Ballad Of Lucy Jordan