Digital High Resolution John Lennon Audio Here And Coming

Gimme-some-truthJohn Lennon left behind a wonderful legacy of music that include his partnership with The Beatles, as well as his own fruitful solo career. There’s never been a question as to how wide ranging his daring musical experimentations were (Two Virgins – 1968, Life With the Lions – 1969). But once he got his groove going, he created masterful albums that included his best-selling Double Fantasy (1980), as well as his defining Imagine (1971), his interim set, Walls And Bridges (1974), and, for me, his most beautiful, Mind Games (1973).

Of course, Lennon’s output included more than those listed. In their own way, all of them are masterpieces that reveal the core spirit of the John Lennon. Lennon was never one to shy away from his feelings, and each of his releases underscore that in their own way.

On October 28, two 2010 compilations, the 15-track Power To The People, and the 72-track Gimme Some Truth box, will be released in high resolution audio in 44.1kHz/24-bit remastered quality. On November 4, The John Lennon Signature Box will follow with new remasters in 96kHz/24-bit audio. The 2010 set will contain eight of his best (Double Fantasy, Mind Games, Imagine, Rock ‘n’ Roll, Walls And Bridges, Plastic Ono Band, Sometime In New York City, Milk And Honey), along with several rarities included exclusively within the Box recorded at 44.1kHz/24-bit.

All albums in the Signature Box have already been individually released in high definition audio (96kHz/24-bit): Imagine, and Rock ‘n’ Roll were released on October 7, with Mind Games, Double Fantasy, and Walls And Bridges following on October 14, and Plastic Ono Band, Sometime In New York City, and Milk And Honey closing the gap on October 21, all via HD Tracks.

Wilco Gets Two Massive Collections Scheduled For November

Wilco, a Chicago band formed from Uncle Tupelo back in the early ’90s, has made a legacy of music that is enviable from all corners. While the band went through several line-up changes, they never compromised their musical flavor, creating album after album of great material. So, it’s no surprise to see their music being revisited in two core collections from Nonesuch Records.

On November 17, a 2CD, 38-track collection culled from their eight studio works, including two tracks from their 1998 Woody Guthrie tribute collaboration with Billy Bragg, Mermaid Avenue, will issue. It is being called What’s Your 20? Essential Tracks 1994-2014 (see track-list below).

Wilco What's Your 20


01. I Must Be High
02. Box Full Of Letters
03. Passenger Side
04. Casino Queen
05. Misunderstood
06. Red-Eyed And Blue
07. I Got You (At The End Of The Century)
08. Monday
09. Outtasite (Outta Mind)
10. Sunken Treasure
11. California Stars
12. Hesitating Beauty
13. A Shot In The Arm
14. Can’t Stand It
15. She’s A Jar
16. I’m Always In Love
17. How To Fight Loneliness
18. Via Chicago
19. Airline To Heaven


01. I Am Trying To Break Your Heart
02. I’m The Man Who Loves You
03. War On War
04. Jesus, Etc.
05. Ashes of American Flags
06. Heavy Metal Drummer
07. Hummingbird
08. Theologians
09. Handshake Drugs
10. The Late Greats
11. Hate It Here
12. Impossible Germany
13. Walken
14. Wilco (The Song)
15. You And I
16. You Never Know
17. I Might
18. Born Alone
19. Whole Love

Also on November 17, Nonesuch will issue a 4CD collection of rare studio and live records. The set is being called Alpha Mike Foxtrot: Rare Tracks 1994-2014. This set extensively accumulates as many quality songs as can be put together, 77 tracks in all. This box will add in a 64-page booklet with track by track commentaries, notes, and many photos exclusive to the booklet.

Together, you can have a wealth of collected Wilco classics and rarities in two fantastic sets that will sit beautifully next to the eight studios, and others that you may have .

Wilco Rare Tracks 1994-2014


01. Childlike And Evergreen (Demo)
02. Someone Else’s Song (Demo)
03. Passenger Side (Demo)
04. Promising
05. The T.B. Is Whipping Me (with Syd Straw)
06. I Must Be High (Live)
07. Casino Queen (Live)
08. Who Were You Thinking Of (Live)
09. I Am Not Willing (with Syd Straw)
10. Burned
11. Blasting Fonda
12. Thirteen
13. Don’t You Honey Me
14. The Lonely 1 (White Hen Version)
15. No More Poetry
16. Box Full Of Letters (Live)
17. Red-Eyed And Blue (Live)
18. Forget The Flowers (Live)
19. Sunken Treasure (Live)
20. Monday (Demo)


01. Passenger Side (Live)
02. Outtasite (Outta Mind) [Live]
03. I Got You At The End Of The Century (Live)
04. Outta Mind (Outta Site) [Live]
05. James Alley Blues (with Roger McGuinn) [Live]
06. At My Window Sad And Lonely (Jeff Tweedy Solo Version)
07. California Stars (Live)
08. One Hundred Years From Now
09. A Shot In The Arm (Remix)
10. ELT (King Size Demo Version)
11. Nothing’severgonnastandinmyway (again) [David Kahne Remix]
12. She’s A Jar (Austin Demo Version)
13. Tried And True
14. Student Loan Stereo
15. True Love Will Find You In The End
16. I’m Always In Love (Live)
17. Via Chicago (Austin Demo Version)
18. Can’t Stand It (Live)
19. Airline To Heaven (Alternate Version)
20. Any Major Dude Will Tell You


01. I’m The Man Who Loves You (Live)
02. The Good Part
03. Cars Can’t Escape
04. Camera
05. Handshake Drugs (First Version)
06. A Magazine Called Sunset
07. Bob Dylan’s 49th Beard
08. Woodgrain
09. More Like The Moon
10. Let Me Come Home
11. Old Maid
12. Hummingbird (Alternate Version)
13. Spiders (Kidsmoke) [Live]
14. Hell Is Chrome (Live)
15. At Least That’s What You Said (Live)
16. The Late Greats (Live)
17. Just A Kid (with The Blisters)
18. Kicking Television


01. Panthers
02. Theologians (Live)
03. Another Man’s Done Gone (Live)
04. I’m A Wheel (Live)
05. How To Fight Loneliness(Live)
06. One True Vine
07. The Thanks I Get
08. Let’s Not Get Carried Away
09. Hate It Here
10. Impossible Germany (Live)
11. I Shall Be Released (with Fleet Foxes) [Live]
12. What LIght
13. Jesus, Etc. (with ANdrew Bird) [Live]
14. Glad It’s Over
15. Dark Neon
16. The Jolly Banker
17. Unlikely Japan
18. You And I (Live)
19. I Love My Label