Supertramp Classic, Crime Of The Century, 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Expected In December

Supertramp Deluxe Edition Crime Of The CenturyWhile the best known Supertramp album in the world is easily Breakfast In America, the 1978 classic that dropped four high-charting singles, there is without a doubt, love for previous release, Crime Of The Century, issued three albums prior back in 1974. With Crisis? What Crisis? (1975), and Even In The Quietest Of Moments…(1977) caught in the middle, attention for Crime Of The Century never really waned, and, in fact, became more popular because of the two singles, “Bloody Well Right”, and “Dreamer”. In many fans’ hearts, Crime Of The Century is as warmly received as Breakfast In America, and just as essential.

On December 8, in the UK, Crime Of The Century will be given the royal 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition treatment with the reissue of the title in a 3LP vinyl Box, as well as a 2CD Deluxe Edition. The 180-weight, 3LP set will especially shine as it will add in two 8 x 10 picture cards, an eight-page booklet with photos, an essay, and other notes, and a download rights card. there will also be a single LP set with just the original songs remastered.

The bonus tracks to this set will audio performance tracks from their March, 1975 appearance at London’s Hammersmith Odeon (see below for show track-list).

While the 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of Crime Of The Century is only slated for the UK at this time, there is no doubt the title will become available across the waters in the US very shortly. I will keep a close eye out for its addition, and update this page.

Supertramp Crime Of The Century 3LP Deluxe Edition Box

Hammersmith Odeon show track-list

01. School
02. Bloody Well Right
03. Hide In Your Shell
04. Asylum
05. Sister Moonshine
06. Just A Normal Day
07. Another Man’s Woman
08. Lady
09. ‘A’ You’re Adorable
10. Dreamer
11.  Rudy
12. If Everyone Was Listening
13. Crime Of The Century


Review: Live At The Mauch Chunk Opera House – Mary Fahl

Mary Fahl Live At The Mauch Chunk Opera HouseMary Fahl is, simply, a master of her craft. Possessing a unique voice that is as expressive as it is beautiful, she has been able to turn her music – and the music of others – into long-term standards that may never find the catastrophic melt of time to age them. After leaving October Project, she embarked on a solo career that began with the release of her four-song EP, Lenses Of Contact. Eventually, Sony Classical, with its off-shoot label, Odyssey Records, would release the ageless The Other Side Of Time, in 2003. With a brilliant selection of songs including two that would find their way onto movie soundtracks (“I’m Going Home” from Gods And Generals, “The Dawning Of The Day” from The Guys), The Other Side Of Time would be favorably reviewed as a classic of extraordinary songs.

With two more studio albums added to her catalog that includes the re-imagining of Pink Floyd’s The Dark Side Of The Moon in From the Dark Side Of The Moon, and her most recent release, Love And Gravity, Mary Fahl has selectively advanced her career with exactly the music she connects most deeply with, songs that would also connect deeply with the listener. And what better way to communicate that connection than a live setting. And Mary Fahl is a master on her stage, wherever she chooses to re-paint her songs onto a unique canvas for the evening.

Newly released, her performances of her songs, including the performances of some tracks from her From The Dark Side Of The Moon make up the whole of the 2CD set, Mary Fahl – Live At The Mauch Chunk Opera House. Recorded from her September 7, 2013 show at the venue, the live set contains 22 beautiful songs from her studio sets. Mary Fahl is one who can transition effortlessly from a short biographical sketch of the origin of her song to the song itself.

There’s enough of her songs from all fronts. She draws liberally from The Other Side Of Time (the stunning “Ben Aindi Habibi”, “Going Home”, “The Station”, “Dream Of You”). She incorporates plenty from her newest album, Love And Gravity ( “Gravity (Move Mountains, Turn Rivers Around)”, “Siren”, “Both Sides Now”, “Exiles (The Wolves Of Midwinter)”, “Meant To Be”, “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright”, “Like Johnny Loved June”, “Dawning Of The Day”). She creates a medley from her daring and essential From The Dark Side Of The Moon with “Us And Them/Brain Damage/Eclipse”, and adds in a wealth of well-known October Project selections (“Return To Me”, “Deep As You Go”, “Falling Farther In”, “Bury My Lovely”, “Take Me As I Am”, “Be My Hero”). Mary also provides several additional pleasures with a small batch of meaningful songs not previously recorded.

What happens is a pleasant experience from start to finish. Mary Fahl is a storyteller. On this new live issue, she establishes that fact in numerous ways. If you’re a Mary Fahl fan, you need to add Live At The Mauch Chunk Opera House to the shelf along with her studio gems.

Let it be known, there is no comparing Mary Fahl’s voice. The reason is simple, there are none like it. Joni Mitchell has her uniqueness, Joni Joplin hers, as do a host of other classic female singers. As well, they cannot be compared.


New Gong Album, I See You, Expected In November

Gong I See YouIf you were a fan of Gong, then you know that greatness went through its turnstiles. There’s Steve Hillage. There’s Bill Bruford. There was Kevin Ayers. There was Allen Holdsworth. Their original – and current – vocalist and guitarist, Daevid Allen, although currently undergoing treatment for cancer, is still involved with the band. Gong is a brand name of a band immersed in its own style of progressive Rock, begun as early as 1967, and with more than 20 albums to their credit including those by Mother Gong. The fact that they’re still involved simply underscores a good band’s potential for genuine longevity.

On November 18, the current incarnation of Gong will release the band’s next album in I See You. Being released in both the US and Canada on Madfish Records, the new 12-track album will be issued on both CD, and 2LP vinyl sets.

I See You still owns the style well known by Gong fans. Daevid Allen, who is heavily invested in this new album is 75 years old, but the music inside does not feel like that derived by a tired man. In fact, the album is lively and fresh. The music remains the usual multi-layers of instruments and concepts. much that will please fans of the ageless band. With hybrids of jazz, rock, and an unsettling but engaging blend of sound, Gong still has the talent to create unforgettable works.

Allen has pushed hard to recruit and keep competent and highly qualified musicians within the ranks of this band, insuring that the music they create will adhere to the standards expected of the band.

Welcome back, Gong. You’re as refreshing as you’ve been in decades past.