Neil Diamond Catalog Reissues Coming In November

Neil Diamond - SerenadeNeil Diamond fans, here they come!

As predicted in the past, after the signing with Universal/Capitol Records, carrying over all Columbia Records titles, it’s been speculated that we could get Universal-branded CDs of all of Neil Diamond’s Columbia works. And that is finally happening.

Neil Diamond’s relationship with Columbia Records had been a long and fruitful one. With multiple multi-platinum releases beginning with 1973’s excellent Jonathan Livingston Seagull, followed by the Diamond’s first Columbia Records-branded┬áPop effort, Serenade, released in 1974 (Jonathan Livingston Seagull was a soundtrack). From there is was one platinum effort after another until Neil Diamond’s popularity began to wane, evident with the lowered sales of Primitive from 1984. After Primitive, and with the exception of his holiday sets, his works have been Gold status sellers (sales of 500,000 units). You can chalk it up to new, disinterested audiences largely immune to the Neil Diamond mystique.

On November 24, Universal will reissue:

  • 12 Songs (2005)
  • Dreams (2010)
  • Home Before Dark (2008)
  • Hot August Night/NYC (2009)
  • Jonathan Livingston Seagull (OMPS) (1973)
  • Love At The Greek (1977)
  • September Morn (1979)
  • Serenade (1974)
  • The Bang Years 1966-1968 (2011)

While there are no details at this time, my guess is that these will have been remastered. I say this because there is a trickle of titles, with much still not planned (as yet). They are likely not Deluxe Editions, or extras-laden. But still, new possible remasters work for me.

It should be noted that, as of July 1, these titles have been released as digital MP3 product.

I’ll update this as I retrieve more news.